Glimpse of our backyard :)

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Being a full-time college student and momma leaves me with less time than I'd like to devote to our self-sufficiency, but when I can I do! Every morning I wake up and feed my 6 girls (chickens) first and then the buns. DSCN1408.JPG

Don't you love that beautiful black gold my girls are making! Their run is smaller than I'd like, but until we get the perimeter fence up in the back, I simply can't let them loose for 2 reasons. Reason #1: We live in a rural area, but we are in a neighborhood and I have to keep my neighbors happy! Reason #2: There is a big beautiful field behind our yard that happens to be patrolled by a family of hawks! But don't you feel sorry for them! They love their attention and kitchen scraps (healthy, of course), and every week when my other half cuts our normal, suburban, pay-no-mind-to-the-animals-behind-the-fence front yard, they get the grass clippings.

DSCN1411.JPG

DSCN1410.JPG

Our bunny ranch consists of a 16'x12' colony that is completely shaded for the breeders and two tractors for the growouts. This operation is working for us at the moment, but in the winter when the grass doesn't grow, I may separate the male from the female to keep costs down. We have 2 in freezer camp, 2 ready to go, and about 8 more that will be ready by Labor day!

Meanwhile, I still haven't started my fall seeds and my garden is looking pitiful. :/ But you can see our butcher station set up in the background. We are planning to permamnently hook up that sink in the near future. All these plans, so little time, so little funds, haha!

DSCN1412.JPG

Next post I will talk about what I decided to plant in my shady garden for the fall and the problems I have had with babies escaping the colony pen!!! I might even take a video!

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Sort:  

Thanks for a glimpse! I'd love to learn more about your chickens and buns in the future! My garden is non existent, basically, so you're still going well on that front! Ha

Well, it's all a journey for sure! Thank you for reading!

Lovely homestead! Thank you for sharing your beautiful space @southernpaganmom.

Thank you for the compliment! I've followed you!

Thanks for the tour! Looking forward to seeing more of your garden and animal adventures!

Girl, I missed this new post! You should definitely post it in our Homesteading on Steemit Group on Facebook! I love the pics and details! You are doing great!

Looks like y'all have a wonderful place! There are so many things to do on the homestead and never enough time (or money for that matter)! I like your raised beds and your girls look pretty happy. And I envy your processing station! I really need to get our "freezer camp registration station desk" setup. Thanks for sharing! God Bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33