You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homestead Safety : Preparing for the unthinkable

in #homesteading6 years ago

I can see how these are practical for many homes. The only parts I'm finding relevant to my situation is the wooden stove and eye protection. I had no idea wood stove had a feature of using air from outside and using less air inside. I have a very cold home during winter but coal stoves are not an option. Electrical heaters bearly do a thing. Wood stoves sound like the way to go.

I've seen a lot of people working without eye protection wear. I am deeply troubled by this but I have no idea how to approach them in a way that will allow them to listen to me without feeling undermined.

Sort:  

A lot of people make this mistake with fireplaces. If you don't increase the efficiency with an air exchanger the fireplace will pull drafts all over the house. The room with the fireplace will get hot and freeze the rest of the house by pulling cold air in where ever it can get it. You definitely notice this at -40 F. Designing a stove that pulls cold air directly into the stove would be even better than an air exchanger.

I wear eye protection at home. It's usually just my Oakley sunglasses but I think those might be better than the ones I wear at work anyway if you believe their website. They are more expensive to replace but I've been pretty good at not damaging them. That's the thing about safety equipment. The goal is to try not to need them in the first place but to have them on just in case anyway. Wearing something that fits nice, looks good, and still provides protection is what sold me. I don't have to force myself to wear them. I enjoy wearing them.

There are some pretty decent looking safety glasses these days with various tints. I've known guys that use their tinted safety glasses as sunglasses. All you can do is lead by example. Maybe someone will like the look of your new tinted safety glasses and pick up a pair themselves. Offer to let them try yours on.

These are very helpful tips and extremely educational. It will be winter in less then two months. This time around I will be ready for it because I am now armed with knowledge. People make these mistakes because of lack of knowledge, well that's the case for me anyway. You could find that others just aren't bothered at all by the inefficiency of their house warming apparatuses.

I can do that with the glasses. Could you perheps tell me names of the brands you buy and also send a picture or description of them? Will try to find them here where I live.

Yes, you can't fault people for making mistakes when they don't know any better. We all learn from our mistakes.

I don't have any of my own photos of safety glasses but if you search on Amazon for Harley Davidson safety glasses, they are one brand that's a little more fashionable than others. They have different styles so you don't look exactly like every other person that wears them. I've seen guys wearing them around as sunglasses before.

HD glasses. Those must cost a pretty penny. I will do that and compared the dollar to rand. I hope they are affordable.

They might be but Amazon will show cheaper alternatives that are still safe to use. Companies copy the designer names and put a cheaper price tag on their product. They still have to meet safety standards to be sold as safety glasses. I did a search on Amazon and there are some affordable alternatives that look really similar to the designer safety glasses.

Thank you for spending time researching that and giving me pointers. I truly appreciate it. I will head on down to amazon soon.

Great conversation guys. I use Stihl saftey glasses. Lile the chainsaw brand Stihl. Mine are white with reflective blue lens. They were less than 15 usd.

Well in alot of cases we can just use a line from a friend of mine "if you don't see an example, be an example". If we live safe, others will see!

Be the change you want to see... I GET YOU. You have a wise friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43