You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Homesteading - What is homesteading?

in #homesteading7 years ago

I have to admit that I could never live fully self sufficient. However, when Tv shows like Alone, Alaska, Mountain Men, Homestead Rescue, etc., I'm glued to the TV.

Here is a little story from my childhood. I lived in a rural area and had chickens and some farm animals. We never had cages for the chickens as there were no predators in our area. I had a kid fort that my parents built that eventually turned into a chicken nesting area. On this fort, there was a tower. Some of the chickens would go up to the tower and nest even though we had nests built into the base level of the fort. One of my chores was to go collect chicken eggs. To get to the tower, I had to climb a ladder. Well collecting eggs from the tower just got neglected. One day I decided to collect the eggs from the tower which I haven't done in a long time. I took a cardboard box climbed the ladder and collected the eggs. As I went to climb down the ladder, the eggs shifted and bumped against each other and BANG! One of the eggs exploded. Scared me so bad, I almost fell off the ladder. Next came a very intense horrible smell. Luckily, the opening of the box was facing away from me at the time of the explosion and I didn't get sprayed with the egg. Later I found out that what had happened. The egg went bad and got botulism inside and built pressure. The shape of the egg allows it to hold some pretty intense pressure which is why it exploded when it was jostled in the box.

Despite crazy incidences like this, those were great times. I hope you enjoyed and please follow me @socky

Sort:  

Yea defintely
Guess it absorbed moisture and air from the atmosphere
Thus the desire of the bacterias
Eggs do have short lifespan
Happy that you were not sprayed with the smell
Keep steeming

Your suggestion is good , i think same idea with you but just a little , i think the tower not to use and spider steel good to use . sorry my english not good . please correct if i'm wrong . thank you

Had samw experience too the ducks kept nesting everywhere so one day I step on one egg ino the grass it exploded @socky

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42