You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food storage thoughts for prepping for disasters; large and small, in an orderly fashion.

in #homesteading6 years ago

The pellet rifle is a Gamo brand, and the .177 is the most common pellet, I am stocking up on those now.

I have taken a rabbit, with this rifle; at 60 yards, with a head shot. It went all the way through....

The US Military gauges lethality by penetration of 1/2 inch of pine board. If a bullet can penetrate a 1/2 Inch board, it still has enough power to be lethal. This Gamo will penetrate 2 inches of pine at 25 yards.

A Shotgun is good but is not very precise. It is a good choice for a novice, in case they miss. There are special shells for home defense with a shotgun. Nasty shells for a nasty job!

:)>

Sort:  

sir smithlabs, which model do you have or do you not remember? I thought you had a good memory? I went to their site but there's like a dozen models. Does yours have a scope? You just pump it one time?

which model do you have or do you not remember?

Gamo Whisper Fusion Pro 1400 FPS

I thought you had a good memory?

I forgot if I did or not...have to look up the notes on that! Then maybe I can remember....

I went to their site but there's like a dozen models.

Lots of good choices! Life is never easy!

Does yours have a scope?

It came with one, but I do not use it, it has good quality blade sites.

You just pump it one time?

Yes, that is important for hunting.

:)>

sir smithlabs! "Yes, that is important for hunting!" lol...thanks for the information, for once you had something interesting to say, I think I'll copy and paste and bookmark that post. maybe print it out and have it laminated.
actually, I never thought much about an air rifle but i didn't see any prices, what does something like that cost?

It is expensive. Mine was $239, but I am worth it, LOL! Since it is for prepping, I went for it. NOW I need to buy a second one, because...when you have one, you have none!

:)>

sir smithlabs! is that your rule of thumb when prepping? when you have one you have none? In case one breaks?

Yes, all preppers follow this rule. Things that are easy and inexpensive now, will be difficult and expensive if the SHTF. Since fishing is a big part of my plan, I bought over a thousand fish hooks. NOW they are cheap and easy....

I bought ten rolls of 80 pound test, Kevlar spider wire fish line; because it was being discontinued at one store. I would like to find that deal again.

If you keep an eye out, you can add prepper supplies cheaply, and stock up. Today is the time to start looking for life saving bargains!

:)>

sir smithlabs! isn't ten pounds of fish line enough to last a couple of lifetimes? lol.

For you maybe, LOL, I may have to make a fish net....

Besides, If I have fishing line, and someone has something else I need that is in need of fishing line; we both benefit.

Barter material will be the new wealth.

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56800.55
ETH 2331.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34