You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Accidental Homestead Skills

in #homesteading7 years ago

HAha! What a random accident to have. I love it when negative circumstances are encountered by positive-thinking people who turn it into an opportunity. ;)

I LOVE cooking over fire. We have been fire-cooking ever since we finally got to our homestead--it was one of our first goals achieved once we got out of the city (where fires weren't allowed....sigh).

IMG_5125.jpg
Here's our...VERY rustic setup that we used for a while (ie a pot on top of sticks). We've been building an outdoor kitchen area, and I feel so refined, now!

I used to teach kids how to start fires with flint and steel--let me know if you ever want any pointers!

Sort:  

Oh, and I'll add crazy escapee chicken-catching (they're free range now, thankfully), and toddler redirection (aka please stop trying to climb/lick the goat fence) to my list of accidental homesteader skills.

haha I should have added duck catching skills. Turns out if you walk up to them with a bright light in their eyes at night they can't really see you coming and then you get them with a net!

I did see your videos! That's very exciting. We're hoping to start tackling our outdoor cooking space this winter. Food just tastes so much better over wood. I've even made frozen pizza on the grill. It's delicious!!

Sidenote: is that the lodge wok? And is it worth it?

Our ducks seem to like coming up to us so far, but I'll have to remember that for the future!

OH MY GOSH I can't wait to actually make real pizza. We're cooking the occasional pizza in our oven inside, but I can't bear to put it past 350, which makes for ho-hum pizzas for sure.

Also, it IS the lodge wok. We put it on our wedding registry and got it as a gift, but we would have bought it if we didn't get it. It's great for stir-fries, of course, but also making popcorn and lots of other things! As with any cast-iron, it takes a while to heat up, but holds that heat really well once it gets it. As for cooking over the fire like I showed in the picture, I CERTAINLY prefer that wok over any other cooking thing I have. It has a little stabilizing base on the bottom, and that really helped with balancing it.

Interesting. I had planned on getting it but rarely have need for a wok that a regular pan couldn't serve might need to reconsider

The sheer amount of food it holds is what does it for me. The picture I showed you was enough to feed four adults and one kid, with leftovers. I find it is lovely for curries as well--it holds in all that sauce with no splashing.

I'm not a salesperson for Lodge, haha, I just really like their products.

well that's useful. I kind of have a love hate relationship. I much prefer the antique cast iron but lodge does make a few different items I wouldn't be able to get antique.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61829.34
ETH 2395.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63