You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How We Save Money On The Homestead (VIDEO COLLABORATION)

in #homesteading7 years ago

@lturner, what a kind, thoughtful comment! Thanks for reading. With my husband's help, I am so much more organized, thoughful, and resourceful with our resources...I don't know what I'd do without him!

And I can't believe how many people are still duped by the fashion-control-scheme. I used to be one of them, worried about how I looked and if what I was wearing was "good" enough. I am so glad to be free of it! My boy has lived in 90% thrift store clothes his entire life, and they're nicer clothes than what I could have afforded at our local stores.

Sort:  

You're welcome! I really enjoyed your video.

I'm the organized one in our family, but my husband is definitely more thrifty and better with managing our resources. I'm the one who goes through the closet and says, "We have to throw these shoes out - there just isn't any way to glue these together anymore!"

Aside from gifts by friends and relatives, our kids have lived in mostly thrift store clothes as well and I'm always amazed at some of the beautiful things they are able to have that we otherwise would never purchase because it would be so ridiculously expensive. The only downside I've found is that I can't just get matching outfits for pictures, but I found a solution: the "sailor dress" outfit is a popular classic style that a lot of different manufacturers produce, so whenever I find a sailor dress I get it. I've got an interesting assortment in different sizes now so the girls look like they're matching even if the dresses aren't identical. It's kind of fun too, like a treasure hunt within a treasure hunt.

I was never much of a fashion model myself, but I was always concerned about my clothes wearing out or getting stains on them, etc., because it just cost so much to replace them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43