You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I AM EGGSTREMELY EGGCITED GUYS!

in #homesteading7 years ago

SO WONDERFUL! We just had this moment two weeks ago, and holding that egg (considering all that went into getting to the point where we could have land enough to have chickens to have eggs) was like holding the most precious, edible jewel. HIGH FIVE.

Sort:  

The most expensive... Hahahahaha Damn girls are SPOILED. Hahaha. Speaking of spoiled, I better go turn on their sprinkler..... :/ Hahahah

Yours get a sprinkler? That's awesome. We've only had ours for 3 weeks, so it's still a getting-to-know you game. Have you ever had a problem with your Wyandottes escaping/generally being jerks? We've got two of them, and they are...full of personality, to the chagrin of the smallest hen who gets the brunt of it.

Hahah well, go check out my previous post Crossbeak the Rooster. He is kind of a jerk. But I don't like, wanna hold my chickens or anything. I am okay with him being stand-off-ish. He has been kicked a couple times due to trying to attack the dogs for no reason. I have heard that Wyandottes are pretty asshole-y in general. Especially the hatchery birds. The female isn't so bad, because she is pretty shy, from what I can tell. I haven't even really touched her.

Yeah, they get a sprinkler, it's awful hot here, 95f here at the moment! I think those idiots might die without it... They go stand in the coop...

I don't have a problem with escapees because mine free range anyway. I did fence off my back yard and sometimes a chicken comes into it. But usually it's my Lady chicken (I have yet to share her, as her own post, soon! - She's the only one I really like - she follows me around), she is usually looking for me and I will find her on the back deck.

I don't allow my chickens to be aggressive toward each other or allow the roosters to mate in my presence. Obviously, nothing I can do if I am not out there... But, it tends to help them see me as the head honcho. Haha.

I just put a mini hot tub in for my girls. They can splash around and drink it! Gonna hit the high 30's this week. Gotta take care of our chickees.

Celsius right? I forgot where you're located! Haha. We've got 95f today, they need that cold water! Haha

95 is nasty! Yes, we are supposed to get +40C in the okanagan this weekend.

Ughhhh that's so hot. Hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58