You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Many Eggs Will Your Backyard Chickens Lay?

in #homesteading7 years ago

They are pretty cheap pets, and reward the owners well, in eggs and amusement and compost! I keep my chickens in the summer and warm months for like 20 bucks of feed a month, 40 in the winter. Although I dont get eggs for a couple months in the winter, I love my chickens and dont mind feeding them more. In the summer I get about a dozen eggs every couple days and I have 14 chickens, 9 of which are laying. I haven't done the math but the fresh eggs are way yummier then store eggs, and chickens are incredibly entertaining lol. Totally worth it.

Sort:  

and yeah I don't do the extra lighting, id rather the ladies have a rest and conserve their heat and energy in the wintertime. They will be more productive for me in the spring and coming years I am sure.

I read a post somewhere about chickens that made me laugh. It was talking about how they were t-rex's...and haven't forgotten they were t-rex's. I love watching them run across my yard like a miniature pack of dinosaurs. My husband (a reluctant chicken owner) even gets a kick out of watching them swarm whenever they think he has food. He was working under his truck the other day and looked up to two of the chickens checking out what he was doing...couldn't help but laugh.

I can calculate how beneficial they are with eggs and manure, but can't put a price on entertainment and bug-harvesting. :)

They totally always remind me of t-rex's. thats exactly on point, a flock of t-rex chickens lol. They can amuse even the most stoic of people with their silly sideways chicken look.

Hubby likes to watch them tear into table scraps. One will grab a long piece of something and run away with it while the others chase him. lol too much fun!

Oh yeah tiny dino chicken tag/keep away is good, wholesome entertainment for everyone. Funny chickens, and funny sounds they make too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44