THE RENOVATION OF MY HOME TOWN FAMILY HOUSE

in #homesteading6 years ago

PhotoGrid_1520010475099.jpg

Helo steemians, I am here once again but this time with a kind of documentary. A documentary about my home town family house and how I supervised its renovation. This happens to be the very first house renovation I am doing and I am pretty sure it’s going to come out good when I am done. For now, it is still under construction but almost completed.

I know many will be surprised at how I am able to venture into the art of building when my steemit profile clearly states that I am an Electrical Engineer. As we all know, the Electrical Engineers and builders work hand in hand to achieve a common goal. The job of the builder is to make sure the house stands erect after the architect must have designed the house but after that what next? The house would need to be electrified and that’s where the Electrical Engineer comes in.

When I graduated from the university as an Electrical Engineer, I was doing practically nothing at home and needed something doing badly. My elder brother is an Architect/Builder and he had some projects about starting u, about four of them, all duplexes. He felt I could be of help to him and so decided to travel along with me.

The projects where too much for him alone to handle at the same time so he decided to take them one after the other. We both supervised the building of the first duplex and at that time I was still a bloody novice. I had never been around a construction site before so everything seemed strange but he encouraged me and asked me to relax and take it easy. He told me I wouldn’t learn everything in one day but that if I put my mind to it, I would learn pretty fast. I was excited about the job though and so I was able to learn pretty fast.

In one month, we were done with the carcass and rendering (Plastering) of the first house and we both moved on to the second. At this point I had basic knowledge of house construction and was conversant with a lot of things already as regards building. I was also able to learn a few aspects of my own field because I watched the Electrical Technicians work. I watched how the Electrical pipes were being laid and how Electrical wires were being passed through the pipes.

My brother is a very time conscious architect and so in less than two one month we were done with the second building and was about heading off to the third site when my brother called me and said “I believe that you are smart and by now must have known how to build a house and so I am going to leave you with the third site while I go over to the fourth site”. As soon as I heard these words, I was filled with so much excitement but was also very nervous. What if I mess up? What if the building collapses after I am done (Lolzzz)? What if I get cheated and I lose money? What if the crafts men never listen to me on site and even end up beating me? These thoughts ran through my mind but I was too ashamed to voice them out. Didn’t want to disappoint my elder brother and so I had to rise to the challenge.

I successfully constructed the house from the foundation level to the rendering stage (Plastering) and I was proud of myself. I did this without supervision and when my brother arrived, he was also proud of what I was able to achieve in his absence.

The above story led to why I was assigned to renovate our home town family house and I will be telling you about that and also show you some pictures so sit tight and relax.

On the 15th of February, I got a call from my elder brother asking me if he could entrust the renovation of our home town family house into my hand since he had other projects he was handling at the time and couldn’t leave them for the renovation exercise. He had already finished the architectural design of the house and every preparation for the reconstruction financially had been made. I told him I could handle it and then travelled home to begin the exercise. I don’t really travel home often and so didn’t know my way around but was able to ask a question or two and got the renovation kicked off.

Below are some pictures showing how the house was before the renovation exercise kicked off…

IMG-20180218-WA0021.jpg

IMG-20180218-WA0022.jpg

Here is a picture of the side balcony being demolished…

IMG-20180218-WA0023.jpg
Demolition of the side balcony

Here are some pictures of the work in progress and I hope to show you the completed job when it is finally done.

IMG-20180218-WA0012.jpg

IMG-20180218-WA0016.jpg

IMG-20180218-WA0015.jpg

IMG-20180218-WA0027.jpg

IMG-20180218-WA0020.jpg

IMG-20180218-WA0026.jpg

And finally, here are pictures showing the current state of the house. We are currently painting and this will be the final phase of the renovation.

IMG-20180223-WA0010~2.jpg

IMG-20180223-WA0011~2.jpg

IMG-20180218-WA0014.jpg
The completed backyard staircase

Now, for some who might think this is just some random house...Here is a proof showing that this is my family house

IMG_20160102_130532.jpg
A picture of me and my younger brother standing behind the house...remember the staircase?

So far, it hasn’t been an easy task but I guess I have been able to do a pretty good job. I send my brother the pictures of the work progress and he has really been proud of me for a job well done. I think that at this point, I am ready to handle personal projects when it has to do with house construction and renovation so if you have any job for me, do well to holla…LOLZZZZ

Till we meet again….I remain your humble quality content creator @sistem, do have a nice day.


A big shout out to @acidyo for his encouragements to me on this platform and also to @khaleelkazi for inspiring this post.
Sort:  

Wow wow 😱
I'm so happy for you bro
This is awesomely amazing
May God continue to uplift you and your family

I am ready to handle personal projects when it has to do with house construction and renovation so if you have any job for me, do well to holla…LOLZZZZ
I want to renovate my full village oh dear lol......this is beautiful .....congrat

Hahaha oya Na...Na your money go talk.

Hi sistem! You learned the field of Electrical and Electronics Engineering since you are an Electrical Engineer?

Wow! Now, you can independently overlook the construction projects that once upon a time you are inexperienced. This is an achievement. Upvoted!

Yea bro thanks...it is really a major breakthrough for me and I am happy about this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44