You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Garlic Scape Pesto

in #homesteading6 years ago

Thank you for the detailed explanation, with pictures. I feel like if I knew what a scape was I would be able to follow these instructions and end up with a tasty meal.

I have never heard of scapes before though. Are they called something else as well or, maybe related to something I would have heard of?

Sort:  

Garlic Scapes are basically the flower stalk on a garlic bulb. When growing garlic you cut the flower stalk off so the plant doesn't use the energy to make seeds and you end up with a bigger bulb. You could throw the flower stalk away, or you can use it to cook. I can't say I've ever seen them in the store, but I have seen them in farmers markets and CSAs. They're usually 12-18" and twisted in shape.

Thanks for the clarification and thank you again for a detailed and informative post!

Good reply! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42