You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flora and Fauna in Thailand - A garden full of Fruit! + Bonus Video of Monkeys throwing coconuts!

in #homesteading5 years ago

Regarding the lawn - you know they are not very good envitonmentally? I'm turning mine into a meadow that gets mowed a couple of times a year. Jack fruit seem to be incredibly popular here now as a vegan alternative for everything. I had a jackfruit burger which seemed to have a similar texture to soft shelled crabs although I can't remember much about the taste. The local co-op is selling bbq pulled jackfruit ... I haven't tried it, I'm not mad about the bbq sauce.
Love the treadle machine! So reliable! I had one years ago as part of my collection of vintage machines, it was excellent. I had to let it go when I moved house as the new place was much smaller.
You're about as good at filming monkeys in trees as I am at photographing bees on flowers!

Sort:  

Well the 'lawn' is just a ryegrass we scattered on the infill which you often need to do here to raise the levels up. The 'soil' is mainly sand hence the colour.
The land is actually almost at sea level so floods easily so it had to be lifted when Fons sister built their house. The land at the back is still more or less natural but gets strimmed every now and then. I would kill for a beautiful English meadow style but never going to happen here in the tropics! The other, and very serious issue we have with letting it grow out, and it's not a problem you suffer from in suburban Leicester are snakes! You have to be careful in long overgrown scrubland as its a perfect environment for snakes and all manner of not so timorous beasties!
Jackfruit is, as you rightfully pointed out, often used these days as part of meat substitutes although I didn't realise it was a thing back home! Still not a fan though.

and yes!! I'd forgotten about your bees on the flowers! No doubt I will do better next time. Seems the old fella and his monkeys are one of only a couple of traditional coconut harvesters left on the island so no doubt our path will cross again one day and the monkeys will make a more visual appearence!

Keep cool there. See if you can find this for sale there, its excellent :-)
https://www.konvy.com/snake-brand/snake-brand-prickly-heat-original-cooling-powder-140g-classic-33043.html?gclid=Cj0KCQjwyerpBRD9ARIsAH-ITn8MnO4am9T8AOGrAwdlbyrpKWJjkZ-6Wad44EiezT-xsApYhE49WfkaAtNjEALw_wcB

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33