Tasty Plants But Can Be Invasive

in #homesteading6 years ago

I was talking with a friend who is wanting to make an herb garden. He was concerned since most plants on his list are invasive (specifically mint plants) so he asked how we controlled them. I told him we build planter boxes and plant one in each box. This gives them some space but it is confined.

DSC01016.JPG

The top box is chives, the ones on the outside are several varieties of mint (not growing yet): peppermint, chocolate mint, lemon balm, and an ordinary mint.

Most of our boxes are made from 1" x 12" cedar. The depth offers enough soil to hold moisture and make it through the winter.

How do you handle plants that want to take over your gardens? I bet some of you simply avoid planting them...I did for years!

Sort:  

I'm hoping to get some herbs growing this year, and intended to corral mint in some kind of container, like even a large clay pot partly sunk into the ground.

Either that or I'll plant it in the front yard, and if it actually survives against the dogs, then it deserves to take over. Jeez that just gave me a lightbulb moment...I've got a sea of mud where they killed all the grass, maybe I'll sow it with mint...

I've never grown it from seed always cuttings. Please let me know if it works out! Or post on it.

I didn’t even know those plants were invasive! I planned on planting them in a ladder style planter box anyways.

They can take over a large shape in a short amount of time!

We plant ours in boxes too! Interestingly, a friend gave us a sterile comfrey plant last year. I had never heard of that before. Basically it's a type of comfrey that does NOT take over. I thought that was interesting!

Very interesting, I need to look that up!

I keep them in check by harvesting, and planting them in perennial areas where they fit in with the system. Mint is held in check by shade and larger perennials like confrey and other shrubs herbaceous shrubs. It can fill in the empty spaces all it wants. Creeping thyme is one of my favorites “invasive” herbs for ground cover.

Excellent ideas, thanks for sharing your methods. Definetely something we can try!

I don't even remember planting lemon balm but somehow it found its way to the side of my house. Luckily it is somewhat contained...for now!

Excellent post! support with your up vote in my last post. Thank you

1cc620a784896273cdf4e023c2da4b09.gif

https://steemit.com/news/@jesusj1/ikhimcr4

Please spam somewhere else before you catch a downvote.

I would prefer you not comment on this page if you simply expect an upvote. If your content is good then it will get an upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65