Raw Milk for Your Garden - Feed the Micro Organisms!

in #homesteading7 years ago

I have been actively gardening for at least 15 years of my life and I have heard of most things people put on their garden. Some of them add value and others just take the value from your pocket/wallet.

3 months ago I read an article about feeding the microbiological organisms in your garden with milk. It caught my attention because my mother did this with all her house plants growing up. I asked her why she gave the plants a little milk and she said it makes the leaves shine. I continued to read wanting to learn more, I was surprised that they were talking about acres of crop and pasture land. I read more trying to understand how many hundreds of gallons they wanted a person to apply to an acres of pasture. To my surprise it was very little and the documented facts looked very promising!

Since spring is right around the corner in AR I thought I would take some time today and apply some milk to our gardens.

DSC00423.JPG

Stephanie had 1/3 gallon of whey from making yogurt on Friday.

DSC00425.JPG

I mixed these with some rain water into a 4 gallon sprayer.

DSC00426.JPG

Now it is time to start spraying. I had the sprayer set to a fine mist and it covered the ground well.

DSC00431.JPG

The name of the article is "Milk & Molasses - Magic For Your Garden" I would look it up and take some time to read it, it could unlock you garden this year!

If you do this for your garden or have other items you put into your garden I would love to hear them! It is great to share with the community!!

Sort:  

We used buttermilk on stumps so the bugs could eat them out of the ground, left the area super fertile.

Great information, thanks for sharing!

Never would have thought about milk but it makes sense with the microbiology in the soil and the microbes in the milk. Nice!

Buttermilk on stumps, never thought about that. I have a couple on the property, this will be worth a try in the spring.

Raw milk. I never would have guessed.

Interesting concept. New to me! Thanks for pointing it out and it'll be great to see how well it works!

Have to look this up! Always looking for new ways to use our jersey milk:)

LOL! Sounds a little sketchy to me....I think you need some rock dust!

Thanks Brother! I have a feeling you will be adding some milk to your garden.

I guess I'll be doing more research thanks to this awesome post! following.

Learnt a great deal from this post. Thanks for sharing.

Interesting Idea. I will try ... :)

Makes sense, raw milk is good for just about everyone and everything! Have you listened to the wonderful Laura Ingalls Wilder stories? In our favorite book: "Farmer Boy" Almanzo grows a blue ribbon pumpkin by using his dad's old fashioned method of giving it an "IV" of milk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65