You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why a splash of bleach helps when treating rain water

in #homesteading6 years ago

Thank you for the Post.

This is a subject that I really need to look into these days. We are about to live on the property that is completely off the grid right now. And I have been wondering lately how to make Rainwater potable or drinkable.

Thanks, I'll watch the video a little later @armadillocreek

Sort:  

No problem glad to help! And good luck on your new adventure!

Thank you. I was wondering, so painting the tank, does it prevent the sun from making algae grow inside of there? I'm not too keen on bleach but if it such a little amount....

Yes, painting the tank will stop the algae, the bleach also covers bird poop or anything else that may get into the gutter or on the roof as well. If you want to feel safer with the bleach, it will naturally start evaporating and alot of it disapates when you let it sit for 24 hours. The key is the small amount. More is not better in this case lol. The peroxide will help the rest of the way, and also give you an extra layer of microorganism protection.

I've got your post bookmarked. Thanks for the info. I'll double and triple check what you're saying because that's what I do... even though I believe you, it's a habit with today's information age!

Of course all the crap that hets on the roof goes in there, I hadn't even thought about the birds!

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44