We are starting a homestead!!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

So, this is my first blog...ever. I am much better at "the doing of things" than I am writing about the things I'm doing. Hopefully I'll get better as we go forward.
On a side note Thanks Gregory Mannarino https://steemit.com/@marketreport for leading me to Steemit.
We are starting a homestead!

0107171252a.jpg
My better half taking in the view from our new homestead.

We were looking into many ways to earn a living on the homestead, growing veggies, fruit, medicinal herbs, raising animals, and making various cottage industry items to sell. One of the many income streams that we were looking into for the homestead was starting a YouTube channel. YouTube, however, has begun to demonetize content that it doesn't "like" even if the video in question meets their criteria for being acceptable. Many YouTube channels that I follow have begun to complain that their videos are being demonetized. https://steemit.com/@mericanhomestead had this problem just a few days ago for showing how to butcher a cow. Others have complained that their subscribers have been unsubscribed. This is the kind of stuff that makes wanna get out there and do something about it. So I did. I moved to Steemit!

Our goal for this high desert homestead is to be completely off grid. Power won't be a problem as we have ample sun year round for solar. The challenge will be water. While there is water available at the road, it cost a few thousand dollars to connect and it will cost another few thousand to bury a water line all the way to the home site. We are going to attempt to capture the water needed to run our household, and sustain our livestock and agriculture, through the use of permaculture, hugelculture, and structural water catchment systems.
We are just now starting to work our way into the property. Our driveway is about 350 yards, which we built ourselves, costing us about $2600. That is machine rental and road base, not our time and labor.
It would have cost about $10000 to have a contractor do it.

0405171049.jpgThe road to Nowhere turns into the road to somewhere.0405171228.jpg
0414171326.jpg

Our next goal is to start a cabin to live in on the weekends so we can work on the strawbale house we want to build.
I hope you will join us in this journey we have embarked on, not just our homesteading journey, but also this Steemit journey too. I'm so excited about this new community.
So long for now,
scottyt (soon to be somethin somethin homestead)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! @scottyt

Very creative!

Let me throw a cheep idea out here for you. instead of building a temporary cabin to live in while you are building your home check your local wrecker yards and see if anyone has a retired highway trailer that you can buy cheep, I picked up one here in my area for $800 make sure it has a good roof that doesn't leak, build a door on the end and some rooms in side an your in business. After your house is finished you can sell it back to the junk yard or use it for storage. I turned mine into a small barn.

Sorry for taking so long to reply. Great idea. We considered that, well I did, my wife (soon to be) was not gonna let that happen. I didn't even have to ask.
I did the cost analysis on doing it ourselves, it's gonna be pretty cheap. Now we'll have a nice guest cabin for people to stay in. It's not in the immediate vicinity of the home site, so it might turn out to be an off-grid AirB&B stream of income for the homestead. Thanks so much posting ideas , always gets me thinking.

Thanks for the idea about the barn. I am going to look into it.

Great place! I like the idea of living like this. Great post!

Thanks. It's gonna take a while to get everything going. We're going to post it all.

Wonderful! I've followed so I can follow your progress. Good Luck!

Thanks. Followed you too.

Congratulations on joining Steemit and starting your homesteading journey. Great post. Please keep posting. Can't wait to see the progress you make and what you learn and share along the way.

Thanks for the support.

Thanks. We're planning on posting it all. Post may be intermittent at first.

I'm looking forwars to following your progress!

Awesome stuff!
I am new to steemit too!
This is a great place to practice blogging. I have also wanting to step up my blogging.
Its been a lot of fun so far!! :)

Great Post!! I have followed you. Please follow me back!!

Done. Thanks.

Very Very cool awsum great work :))) i too follow Gregs work too, a fantastic passionate guy, keep the dream alive .:)

Thanks. Love this community. Greg was dead on.

Welcome to Steemit Land!

Thanks. Loving it so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66670.04
ETH 3497.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71