Sort:  

What a beautiful, evocative post - I was round that fire with you. So there is still hope - there are still informed parents around who minimise screen exposure.

Thank you! Glad to hear it!

And everything you said here is why we bought this place in the country—not only was it our individual dreams to live this life, but we wanted our kids to experience growing up close to nature and above all, to feel free! I let them catch the chickens and try to climb the trees and splash in the creek :) Thanks for a great article!

Thank YOU! That is so so good...

Great post. My wife and I feel the same way as you. We homeschool and live in the country as well. I agree there is no better place for children then out exploreing and using their imagination.

Wonderful! Do you "unschool", or use a curriculum? We do sort of a compilation of different homeschooling methods.

We r currently using Christian Liberty but we r not 100 percent sold on it. But my wife has made up her own Bible curriculum.

I see. I mostly use workbooks and improvise extra curriculum and activities around the subjects. I have also recently been considering a Waldorf curriculum.

This is wonderful mama. I lol’ed when you wrote your one boy gets mad when you don’t let him help. I think that’s a good sign. It is sad we even have to speak up for getting fresh air and plenty of sunshine, but as you said many kids prefer the screen these days. A tragic thought. We must protect the youth from the screen, and keep dishing them them out ample wild freedom. You’re doing well.

Thank you!!!! Yes, it is true.... My son has been disappointed when we tried to get together with certain kids for playdates, and they didn't want to play... We have seen some stuff first hand- and that is education for our kids too- they understand why we limit it, because they themselves see what damage it can do... I agree! Ample dishes of wild freedom, coming right up!

Lovely sentiments. This makes me excited to have the chance to start my own family in the next few years.

I'm glad you enjoyed the post! Thank you!

Love everything you have said here, really resonates with me and this is why I want to have my kids grow up like I did, out in the paddocks, climbing trees, getting muddy, using our imagination to amuse ourselves...your children will thank you so much when they grow up <3

Aww, thank you! I am glad you liked this post... It's awesome that you grew up that way, I did too, after my parents "rescued" our family from living in the city...

Lovely post @schoonercreek, my kids are outdoors almost everyday, they climb trees, build dens, rescue many unicorns and dragons. They eat the fruit from the trees and come to me completely filthy and happy. I have learned so much from my kids and even though I have always felt a huge connection to the earth they have increased that.

They sometimes go up the mountains to a creative hub where they play, make music, create monsters and art. For me it's so important to trust your children, they know what they need, If we step in too much we prevent them from learning for themselves. They are so capable, we are here when they need us, but they need to be allowed to realize how their best learning comes from within them, within nature. You do the best that you can do, no one is perfect or needs to be. I think it's really important that our children see us accepting who we are, because that is a huge lesson in itself. It sounds like you are doing a fine job x

@trucklife-family Thank you for this thoughtful comment. I love hearing how your kids are, I think ours would get along quite well! How old are yours? Have yall ever played the game "Dragonwood"? Mine love it for inside on rainy days...

I'm sure they would. they'd probably look at one another for a little bit then their would be no stopping them. I have 3 girls, 5, 8 and 9 months, would love to know about Dragonwood the name itself sounds great my 2 eldest love anything to do with Dragons.

It is a card/board game, its pretty fun!! Thats great mine are 3 and 8...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87