Sort:  

all im going to say is, WE had several children living in our community. One of them, Ula who lived with us when she was 6-12 years old, was brought up basically in the jungle out here, with very few restrictions!

Today, Ula can climb huge tall trees barefoot without any issue, you can barely see her up there. In fact their whole family are quite happy to walk around barefoot on muddy paths with leeches and snakes! We are all FINE!

I'll leave you with with an image that I think says it all! (she was muddy because we were building an earthship hut and she was learning how to do some cob work.

ula.jpg

Ha, i find my daughter everywhere lately :-)

Wow! Thats amazing... oh my leeches and snakes... We have them here, but in limited numbers or seldom seen...

Yes, exactly! And this is why I let my kiddos dig in the dirt and pick up chickens, among other things :) Your kiddos are so cute, I enjoyed all the pictures.

Aww, thank you! Got me daydreaming about a village- a whole gaggle of dirt loving kiddos!

Love seeing the little ones outdoors and in the garden. I can remember when my grandma would have me help her in her garden. Always such good memories!

I love this! My children love to plant and get dirty and dig and get in the creek. This is what makes life fun. The joy they have exploring and living out on the land is wonderful for my memory. I hope they feel the same one day.

Yes, me too... I think they will :-)

I know that I had two very different settings as a child, partially in an urban place, and partially in the country, I bet you can guess where my favorite place was!

Sounds like you are doing a great job with your children. No better place for kids to grow up then around animals and the farm. I might be biased though;)

Haha I think we both are! Thanks for stopping by and reading my post!

Oh I just loved seeing pictures of your sons when they were little! We have had similar experiences with "helpful" relatives. My daughters know the names of the plants in our garden and eat Egyptian walking onions straight from the earth all summer long (they often have onion breath when they come inside from playing!) They never wear shoes in the summer and it is funny when visitors say "Wait you have to put your shoes on!" as my daughters are running outside. We also take this approach with insects. Teaching them which ones can bite or sting and which are safe.

Ahhh.. now I am dreaming of summer days....

Sounds like our kids would get along quite well... Wow they eat raw onions!? I can't even get mine to eat cooked ones, haha. But then again everything tastes better straight outta the garden...

Thanks for stopping by!

awww your children are such cuties !!! schoonercreek thank you

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Thank you for reading

Thank you! schoonercreek great to get your interpretation on my last art post called "Attachment" your insight would help us : )

With love,

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Thanks for sharing this. I see so much value in being as hands off as possible and trusting in our children’s learning process.

Yes to an extent they learn very well on their own... Thanks for stopping by!

Wonderful!! Wishing I had more of my own tribe...times were different when I was raising children in the garden. Enjoy these memories you are creating!

Thank you! I do very much

Lovely post and photos! Sounds like a balanced and natural way of raising children.

Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65