The Beauty in Small Trees: Bonsai

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Be not afraid of growing slowly, be only afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

1518304136590.jpg

IMG_20180211_113035.JPG

I took a visit at my brothers house and saw his great collection of bonsai. As a child my father loved plants so much. We were surrounded by plants and we all have interest in plants. It was later that I found out that I too have a green thumb. And how plant has made me smile after a tiring day.

After work it has been a part of my routine to water the plants and watch them flourish. Being surrounded by plants has always been my stress releiver.

My brother too have lots of plants at home but Bonsai have a special part in our heart. So I took pictures of it coz I don't wanna miss it's beauty.
IMG_20180209_225820.JPG

Bonsai are plants whose growth is controlled. It takes years to perfect a wonderful shape and form that's why it's expensive. Bonsai's price range from 1,500-5,000 that's the cheapest as I have known.. There are bonsai who even cost more than that. I remember when we visit the province he would go to the mountains and look for bonsai.
IMG_20180209_225813.JPG

Things my brother consider in getting a bonsai:

  • the plant must be an adult plant,the older the plant the better.
  • plants that roots are exposed, that means you can literally see it's roots outside the soil.
  • non bearing plants are easier for him to bonsai.
  • if he can find plants that has already grown in a rock it's an advantage.

IMG_20180209_225805.JPG

IMG_20180209_225758.JPG

But if you don't have the resources you can buy ready made bonsai.

IMG_20180209_225750.JPG

My realization in this blog is that at steemit we minnows or newbies are like Bonsai, BIG DREAMS SMALL TREES. We are small but though our size are tiny our dreams at steemit are gigantic. Dream Big Steemians.

Keep Steeming!!

FB_IMG_1518154574747.jpg

follow me

@sawi:")

Sort:  

So bulls-eye relating bonsai to being minnows. 😄 I love bonsai trees and I would often stop and admire them on a garden center - but I don't have the green thumb. Beautiful photos but two photos captured me a lot more than the rest, the two bonsai with moss with them. Been wanting a moss terrarium and started on it the last few days. 😁 I'll be back later to upvote as my voting power is far from being full, still charging parang battery lang.

wheheh thank you @happyfree. yes bonsai look even better with the moss. Thank you for dropping by..

Walang anuman @sawi. 😄 Back and upvoted.

Keep steeming mam @sawi :) indeed, mura jd tag mga bonsai ani

thank u mam..

I learned a lot from this article. I had thought that bonsai trees were a single variety of coniferous tree that could withstand the pressures of being trained. After reading this article I went and read more about bonsai trees and found that almost any tree could become a bonsai tree with patience and training. I also had no idea that they sold for 1,500-5,000.

yes you can make any tree a bonsai, you'll just have to take care of it and control it's growth.. thank you for showing interest in my post @royaleagle. In the Philippines you can actually buy bonsai if you don't know the procedure in making a bonsai. There are some displayed in malls.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62886.34
ETH 2448.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64