You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 12 Ideas On How I Will Make An Income From Homesteading

in #homesteading7 years ago

We are definitely going to do cut flowers next year. We had great luck with zinnias this year that my daughter grew just for beauty. She placed at the fair with them this week! If we add some varieties, we could be in business!

We also looked at pigs this week. We looked at heritage breed pigs that take longer to grow to butchering weight, but don't require as much feed and really thrive on pasture! So many decisions!

Sort:  

Very cool. I really think cut flowers can be a profitable product almost anywhere in the US right now, either large or small production. With a little hustle to find buyers I'm hoping they can at least be a decent side income. I hope you can do it, and I'd love to hear about your experiences also.

There are so many breeds of pigs out there, its like trying to pick just one chicken breed. I've been watching Pratt Family Homestead on YouTube, and they're trying like 4-5 different breeds this year and then picking one breed to start breeding. They've got red waddles and mangalitsa and then some crosses. A couple other channels I watch have the American Guinea Hogs, Cog Hill Farm and The Grass-fed Homestead. One piece of advice I've taken to heart, is to find a local breeder you can get established with and who is doing things similar to what you want to do, and go with the breed they are raising. When you find your breeder, then you've found you're breed. Makes sense to me for someone getting started.

Good luck with your ventures, I really enjoy seeing people getting started doing some of the things I want to do also. Thank you for sharing in the fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57738.58
ETH 3102.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34