You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I think we have an egg eater!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I’ve always given the broken eggs to my birds. It’s good recycling and what’s more, it’s bird food ... of course they like it. Over the years we had egg eaters that broke the eggs on purpose to eat them but they always stopped when I gave them the following Chicken Conditioner recipe given to me by the person that gave me my first chooks:

Live yogurt
Crushed garlic
Cayenne pepper
Apple cider vinegar.

Choose your own proportions. I never measure mine, but there’s definitely more yogurt than cayenne and there’s plenty of garlic. 😄

We’ve never had to cull an egg eater. That’s a good thing in itself but a great thing if you’ve got to try to find out which hen is doing the eating! No need so far.
I’ve no idea why it works but it has for the past 7 years.

Doesn’t work on blasted crows!

Sort:  

Nice! That is good to know! We have never hsd an egg eater, so this would be the first. Thank you for the recipe. I hate culling the animals. Mostly because we don't eat them.🙃

Hope you never have to cull again!

Me too. Sometimes things happen.its ok.

Sometimes the fox does the job for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43