Seeds seeds seeds! Dancing with the harvest.

in #homesteading6 years ago

We are surrounded by thousands of little miracles of life.

seeds.jpg

The hot summer sun is sending plants into high gear. Flowers finish blooming, petals drop and seed heads form. Every plant has its own unique spin on reproduction and casting its seeds.

Many plants hold onto their seed and give us ample time to harvest their seeds. But others drop them almost as soon as they are ready. It is fun to experiment and learn our favorite way of harvesting seed for each plant. They are all so unique and different.

We are tuning in.

Keeping an eye on plants that are in bloom and waiting for them to go to seed so that we can catch the right timing for the harvest lets us get closer to connecting to the seasons and with mother nature. We have a lifetime of connecting to do. Baby steps.

IMG_20180814_103548.jpg

What a joy we are finding in our work as we gather seeds to share via http://seedsofabundance.net

This is our zone of holding seeds that we've collected and where they wait for us to clean them before putting them into storage. Some of them are dry, others are drying. Some are all collected, others are waiting for more plants to ripen in the field before finishing the harvest.

IMG_20180814_103501.jpg

Buckets, bins and tarps do the job very nicely!

Look closely

We see hundreds upon hundreds, thousands upon thousands of seeds (along with the other desiccated flower parts).

It is a nice feeling to collect the seeds knowing that we will be spreading them into the world, into the soil , letting go.

seeds1.jpg

They are beautiful. We are honored to work with mother nature's seeds.

seeds2.jpg

Sort:  

That really is a nice bounty of seeds. Nice to see that you have collected a vast amount of so many different varieties, and sorting them appropriately.

I've decided today that I quite enjoy being a messy gardener. I like having things I planted looking wild as they compete through the mess I made, which feeds them. I had a lot of fun this morning cutting up all the old seed stems that were more than I needed to collect, and strewing them all over the garden beds like a giant Godzilla monster. Dead things, knocked over power lines, and exploding pods everywhere!

Woohoo! You are speaking to my heart... the messy look in the garden is so pleasant. I do also love helping those garden seeds disperse all over, somewhat haphazardly and giving back some of the control to nature :) THere is something peaceful and invigorating about that process :)

Chic article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Thank you very much @johnstaff!

Exciting, I signed up👍
Thank you so much for sharing!

Wow thank you @sugarcreek for your support!

❤ seeds ❤ seeds ❤ seeds ❤
I am so proud if the good work you're doing!!
Thanks for sharing a bit if what you do.
#growingislife 🌳🌄🌱

:) I appreciate you @yogajill! It is fun to share what we are working on :)

I love the passion that comes through in your writing, I am so excited for you and your new business xx

Very beautiful photos. Good luck to you and Love.

Очень красивые фото. Удачи Вам и Любви.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75