You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rendering Tallow from Sheep Fat for Sustainable Cooking Fat, Candles, Soap Leather Conditioning and More!

in #homesteading6 years ago

So far I have enjoyed cooking with it, but I have not used it extensively. I like that it is mild in flavor/odor. I'll have to report back once I've had more chance to cook with it in different dishes.

Sort:  

Sounds great!
We are thinking about possibly raising a sheep or two for meat in the near future, and I am glad to hear we can use the fat like this! :D

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

Cool! Yeah like I said the lambs don't have too much fat, but you can get a little. A yearling or older would likely have quite a bit more fat. Maybe two sheep would be better than one since they like company :)

That makes sense! We were thinking about butchering at about a year so hopefully it would have a decent amount by then, but if not, oh well, haha.
Don't worry, I know how herd animals are. I will not sell single goats for that reason. If we got one sheep, it would be with the goats, but we would probably get two. :)

Oh gotcha! I should have known you were already on top of it with your happy herd :) Good luck with the new sheep venture!

Haha thanks! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52