My Favorite Podcasts - Herbalism, Permaculture, Homesteading, Crypto, Freedom

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

I'm sharing my favorite podcasts with you in the hopes that you'll share yours with me ;) I got quite hooked on podcasts in fall of 2015 at the same time I was getting into farming/homesteading. I found it was a great way to learn and when I was doing some monotonous work in the field like weeding or planting, sometimes it was nice to plug in the headphones and get some free education at the same time. But it's also nice to be able to unplug and just enjoy being outside!

Please do share your favorite podcasts in the comments if you think I might enjoy them!


Ask Herbal Health Expert Susun Weed

Herbal Medicine is People's Medicine: simple, safe, effective. Bring your curiosity and health questions. Susun will enlighten, surprise, and delight you..

170x170bb.jpg
Blogtalk Radio | iTunes

By far my favorite podcast. I learn so much about herbal healing, nutrition and so much more from Susun Weed. She offers free herbal consultations to callers, which is quite amazing as she is at the top of her class. Susun is full of love and generosity but her style of education is quite disruptive as she jolts us out of our comfort zones and helps us unschool.


Rewild Yourself

Welcome to the ReWild Yourself Podcast! I’m Daniel Vitalis, and I’ll be your guide through the world of human zoology and lifestyle design. We’ll explore the strategies that ancient apes need to thrive in a modern world, awakening our instincts, and freeing our bodies –– and minds –– from the degenerative effects of human domestication.

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

I enjoy learning about wild food foraging and living closer to the land as Daniel Vitalis shares his foraging adventures and cultural ponderings.


The Bad Crypto Podcast

Technologists and crypto-enthusiasts Joel Comm and Travis Wright attempt to demystify the world of bitcoin, blockchain, litecoin, ethereum, alt-coins, token generation events, and ICOs in this podcast for cryptocurrency newbies.

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

Joel and Travis are good for many laughs! They highlight many crypto subjects in laymen terms and bring on important guests. I don't feel compelled to listen to all the ICO spotlights but they are interesting nonetheless.


The Survival Podcast

Helping You Live the Life You Want, If Times Get Tough, Or Even If They Don't

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

Homesteading, gardening, permaculture, guns, modern survivalism, cooking, investing, crypto and more with an archo-capitalism undertone.


The Vin Armani Show

Weekly 2-hour podcast with host Vin Armani covering current events with a strong bias for a free and voluntary society. Interviews with remarkable humans. Solutions to empower individuals. Vin Armani is also the TV star of Gigolos on Showtime, an author, DJ, and agorist entrepreneur.

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

Just started listening to Vin Armani thanks to @senorcoconut on his post here. Topics involving anarchy and freedom. So far many of the shows are featuring crypto as a main theme. I've found some interviews interesting.


The Abundant Edge: Permaculture, Natural Building, and Regenerative Living

Join us each week as we explore the worlds of permaculture, natural building, and regenerative living by interviewing industry leaders, artisans and innovators

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

While the tropical climate doesn't apply to me, I find the permaculture, natural building and regenerative agriculture topics and guests interesting.


Creative Destruction [Permaculture Voices]

An honest look at what it takes to manage farms, businesses, and life all at the same time without having any of them fall apart in the process. This show is a hard look at real reality of eco-entrepreurism highlighting the success and failures of people out there making a go of it repairing the planet, solving problems, producing products, and making a living doing it. You’ll hear from experts who are far down their respective paths and people just like you who are starting out and making a go of it and learning as they go. Each episode gives you practical insights and advice that you put into action today. The show is hosted by Diego Footer. For more information visit PermacultureVoices.com

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

Permaculture voices is the first podcast I started listening to, thanks to my permaculture design course. A range of fascinating topics and guests related to permaculture. I actually did meet Diego Footer at a Curtis Stone workshop a few years ago, a very nice and quite driven fellow.


Grassfed Life

Weekly insights for livestock farmers and aspiring farm based entrepreneurs who want to earn a living on the land doing something that they care about. The show is hosted by Diego Footer and co-hosted by farmer Darby Simpson for a majority of the episodes. The other episodes feature other livestock farmers from around the world. The archives contain over 80 episodes cover everything from farm startup to sales and marketing.

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

A spillover from Permaculture voices. Permaculture approach to livestock.


Flippening - For Cryptocurrency Investors

Flippening is for cryptocurrency investors. Each week we discuss the cryptocurrency economy, new investment strategies for maximizing returns, and stories from the front lines of financial disruption. Flippening is for a new class of investors that were not part of the financial services world before bitcoin, but got into the finance because of their passion for cryptoassets, blockchain, altcoins, and distributed ledger technology.

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

Info and interviews regarding happenings in the crypto market.


Weathsteading Podcast

Prepare for retirement & gain stock market insight. Each episode helps you increase your wealth building knowledge by reflecting on the news and events of the day in light of money manager John Pugliano’s personal wealth building strategies. John has over 30 years investing experience, he's an entrepreneur, author, inventor and the founder of Investable Wealth LLC. Visit the podcast website at: www.wealthsteading.com

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

John Pugliano helps me keep a tab on what's happening in our economy.


Mystical Musings

You are invited to join Myron McClellan and Lawrence Phillips for a monthly gathering of spiritual renewal in the company of the like-minded. Mystical Musings is a celebration of the sacred that promotes growth and an evolution of consciousness. The musing doesn't present doctrine or dogma, but rather explores the mystical dimensions of life and spirituality that support you in connecting with the Divine. Myron and Lawrence present a specific theme each month—an idea or issue that arises organically in their lives and in the lives of their colleagues, students, clients, and friends—and engage with this subject by touching on a range of spiritual traditions and creative explorations. They lead inspiring meditation and easy movement, present improvisational music, offer homilies, read poetry, and infuse the proceedings with humor, sensuality, new insight, and wise counsel for honoring the body, expanding the mind, and tuning into the spirit. These monthly gatherings provide a contemporary expression of the spiritual impulse that resonates with people of good will everywhere.

170x170bb.jpg
Stitcher | iTunes

This is really the most beautiful podcast I've ever listened to. Myron and Lawrence led a monthly non-denominational spiritual talk. There is a lot of love and positive energy. Unfortunately they stopped hosting the gatherings and podcasts due to limitations of their age, but luckily their podcasts archives remain for us to benefit from.


The Aggroinnovations Podcast

The purpose of this website is to provide people with information about permaculture, organic agriculture, appropriate technology and other strategies to further relocalization and regenerative ecosystem management.

download.jpg
Website

Unfortunately Frank Aragona has been on hiatus with this podcast. Perhaps he will resume again, perhaps not. But there is a plethora of brilliant interviews in the permaculture and agriculture space in the archives to glean from.

Sort:  

Great Post.

What fun to listen to all these podcasts with you on our long car drives!

Me too, in the car mostly!

Thanks for sharing. I listen to most of these, but not all. The crypto podcasts are new to me and I’ve been looking to learn more in that area, so I’ll check them out. I’ve been planning a post of favorite podcast episodes. I’ll send you a link when I publish it!

Awesome! Glad to hear that we have similar taste! Please do link it to me when you do post it. I'm curious to see what you're listening to :)

I just got a post up with podcast episodes. My first content post ever! I'm finding the formatting learning curve to be steep. Check it out here: https://steemit.com/podcasts/@owleye/mind-expanding-podcast-episodes

I find Vin Armani's pod cast to be very good for cripto...he will offend you if you are in the game only for the money! It's a good place to learn. I will have to check out what @sagescrub's got up on this post.

nice post

Love it! Thank you so so much for sharing! I can't wait to start listening to the new finds!

Same here, there are a few there I had no idea about...(there are probably millions I have no idea about!) The Abundant Edge sounds very attractive, adding it now to my list.

You're welcome! Thanks for your comment and good vibes :)

Whooooa! How do you manage! I have a single podcast and rarely have time to listen to the backlog of dozens of episodes :) No idea how could I fit another one, let alone 10! :)

LOL I don't! I don't get around to all the episodes, so I have to cherry pick.. sometimes fast forward or skip if I lose interest in a topic. But with some podcasts I am more loyal than others :)

I see :) I listen to The Permaculture Podcast and sometimes the Modern Homesteading podcast and that's all :)

Hey you two. How about the permaculture voices podcasts with Diego Footer. Are you listening to him as well? http://www.permaculturevoices.com/blog-2/podcast-2/

Yep! Actually it is on the list under "Creative Destruction" I think Diego just rebranded the name recently... and created a few other spin off podcasts. I really enjoy his podcast, especially when I was first getting into Permaculture-- it really helped me learn what other people are doing out there.

Actually my friend was just interviewed permaculture voices... under the recent episode on biochar. Check it out, it is a really informative interview!

Oh. I will have to go and check that I am quite interested in biochar. Especially here in costal region many soils are very well draining and sandy. I learned biochar is a good tool in these soils.

Nice! Do you recommend Modern Homesteading? I hadn't heard of it before now.

I do recommend it for the times you need a... "lighter read". I'm a big fan of Scott Mann but sometimes he's just way too serious and deep. Harold has this lightness of speech, like you're just chatting with a friend, not doing a serious discussion with talking points and all.

I can digg a "lighter read" from time to time, when it gets too deep and I can't multi-task all that well!

I'm preparing to do a post on The permaculture of washing dishes and grocery shoping! Really more about stacking funcions...

OOh sounds like a fun post!! Stacking dishes and stacking functions, nice :P

For now, what I seem to like the most in permaculture is stacking functions... We use a the water 5 times while washing dishes!

Very cool! I will check it out thank you :)

Ooh, bookmarked for next time we have abundant internet!

Good plan :) Get ready for a download frenzy! lol

https://www.westonaprice.org/podcast/
I know I'm a broken record lol but they have sooo much good information! Just saw they did one with Sandor Katz on fermentation so now I have some listening to do..Dr Laura On stars 109 is my all time favourite as well, you can listen to her calls of the day for free if you sign up for newsletters, or buy her podcast, mental health is as important as physical :) Drlaura.com

Oh nice! I did used to listen to the Weston A Price podcast for a while and I enjoyed the episodes I listened to :) I haven't listened to Dr Laura, will have to check that one out. Thanks for the suggestions!!

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably.

I also run competitions for those making the world a better place. Check out this weeks reducing plastic competition here

I have been listening to Jack Spirko's Survival Podcast a long time now and I listen to Vin Armani too. They both have a lot of knowledge fro the Cripto Savage as Vin puts it, I like these guys a lot. @Sagescrub, you should get his book, Self Ownership.... excellent read so far!

I like the Freakonomics podcast a lot too and The Liberty Forge Podcast, their last one I listened to was about homeschooling... so good I wish more people could understand it!

Thanks @Sagescrub for all your upvoting you've given me, sorry I haven't been around too much and with this one damn robot eating up a lot of my voting power I'm unable to upvote your posts at the moment. I have to think about getting out of that thing

Awesome! Yeah I got hooked on Vin Armani from you when you recommended it a little while ago :) I'll have to check out Freakonomics and Liberty Forge.. thanks for the recommendations!

Hey you are welcome @senorcoconut! I am glad to support my friends and those I believe in here on steemit! I setup steemvoter a while ago and set it up to auto vote on folks I believe in + my top supporters. I am glad it helps vote on my behalf when I am not around at the computer :) Well I remember you because you welcomed me when I first came on and you've been constantly putting great content and good vibes on here :)

Oh wow, thank you so much for that! That made me really happy and feeling appreciated too.

You're for sure one of my favorites on here, I enjoy your posts very much...I cannot wait to get moving on my property building a homestead full of natural medicine and practicing permaculture. You're a real motivating force for me. Thank you @sagescrub

You're too kind @senorcoconut!! I love your goals.. they sound like they will be so rewarding.

Thanks, I feel like it will be rewarding, though for now what's rewarding is simply knowing I will be moving to the woods in just 4 months!

yay!!! congratulations!!

Thanks! Hey just listened to the Last episode of "Rewild Yourself". Another good one..it was the very last episode he has done but I will listen to the others eventually!

Thanks Again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49