Goodbye Peas, Hello Jerusalem Artichokes!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Peas are drying up. I couldn't wait for them to completely dry and I am ripping them out to give more light to the Jchokes and the peanuts that are planted behind them.

IMG_20180723_190322.jpg

I saved a few packets worth of peas from a farm I visited in Washington two years ago and carried them with me.

I learned the hard way about the pea weavil that ate up half of my saved peas.

IMG_20180309_113521.jpg

Now I will be freezing all of my peas after they dry to kill the pea weavil larvae before putting them into storage.

IMG_20180309_113532.jpg

Luckily half of my saved peas weren't damaged and I got quite a big crop! Many waves of harvest and the pea plants grew 8 feet tall!

Now after all that I have a quarter bucket of dried peas that can be planted and another bunch of green peas that are drying for winter eating.

What an easy plant to grow. It gave us so much joy in the early spring to have such a delicious food when there was not much else garden food beyond greens.

From just a few seeds that survived out of a few seeds comes abundance. So much food and so many more seeds. Nature, I love your way.

Thank you peas plants! Goodbye until next year. Once the shining star of the garden, you lasted so long into summer. Now you are a fading memory of winter and spring. It already seems like a lifetime ago.

Hello Jerusalem artichokes! I am so looking forward to watching you grow through the rest of the season.. and excited to see you flower :)

IMG_20180722_205559.jpg

Sort:  

We have struggled with an exceptionally dry summer for peas and the like here.

We have been using grey water to our water supplies but it a big job keeping everywhere sufficiently watered.

Luckily I haven't encountered the pea weevil yet.

Hi @pennsif, that is exceptional! Are you carrying your water or did you pipe it? I helped set up some greywater systems but it's a lot of hoses if you want it automatic and covering a large area.

Carrying the water at present. This year has been exceptionally dry.

If this sort of dry summer comes again I will definitely look at some sort of piped system. Our main growing areas are 10 ft plus lower than the house so we would have a bit of gravity on our side.

That will keep you strong :) In the system I helped setup each hose had its own valve so their flow could be individually adjusted to make up for differences in pressure or watering needs.

That sounds like a smart way to do it.

Jerusalem artichoke is something I've always wanted to try to grow. I look forward to watching yours grow with you 😀

Yay! This is my first time growing it, but I have harvested and eaten from other homesteads I worked with. It's so prolific once it gets going. This year I am mostly interested in multiplying the roots that I purchased at a seed swap from a local grower. If there are a lot, I will eat some ;)

It is always nice to have something in our own yard and ready to harvest when we need @sagescrub. I am preparing the land for Papaya, it would be about 500 plants of papaya which will be last for 3 years. Have a good day my friend

How amazing!! That is a LOT of papaya! Good luck with your planting!!

Get Automated DAILY upvotes! FREE

steem.link/more

Get 0.1 Free Steem Just To Join

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58116.56
ETH 2361.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42