Little Blue Eggs

in #homesteading7 years ago

Over the past few days while working in the veggie garden, I have been listening to a really interesting sounding robin. She is almost yelling at everyone and always chirpy. She has been dive bombing the other birds in the yard including the chickadees. It seems to me that she is freaking out every now and then when we even get close to her in the garden.

Well, I spotted the reason for her alarm....LITTLE BLUE EGGS....
20170523_131345[1].jpg
20170523_131339[1].jpg
she had 1 on Sunday, 1 on Monday and today...another. Her choice of nesting areas is a little precarious but she seems to be quite at home in the big tire.
20170523_131357[1].jpg
She has to flee every time my hubby drives into the driveway or when the neighborhood kitties come around but then she quickly gets back to sitting on those bundles of joy. If only I could snap a picture of her in the nest with the eggs. That would be awesome...For now, just the eggs. Soon, little chicks.
20170523_093353[1].jpg
Oh, and the family of chickadees are really enjoying the new "free" bird feeders. I did purchase the hummingbird feeder but will try my hand at making one of those as well. I love the birds...they make everything so cheerful and homey.
20170523_093219[1].jpg
Have you spotted any new life in your yard...post it! I would love to see it!

Sort:  

So precious! I also love birds. We've got a pair of Western Scrub Jays that come around. Lots of ordinary suburban birds visit: house finches, hummingbirds, starlings, mockingbirds, crows, doves, and pigeons. There is a peregrine falcon who hangs out half the year. The pine trees are starting to attract the odd woodpecker and vireole. Twice has a white heron dropped by the fish pond. :)

What a great amount of bird life for you to enjoy. I have always loved the peregrines! We had so many up north. They are like a 225mile an hour rocket when attacking. So great. I saw a heron poke his beak into a hole in our field and he popped a huge gopher into his mouth. NATURE! We must take care.

Unfortunately, the massive wind storm we had toppled the robin's nest and all eggs perished. Sad. I kept the nest for another bird to recycle. Nature.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54179.48
ETH 2261.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31