You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Did some bud grafting on my apple tree today, with Step by Step directions.

in #homesteading6 years ago

Have't tried grafting ourselves but I think the apple tree we got was grafted to begin with as the original part started growing out recently and we have two different looking tree bits coming out of hte same thing. That last image did remind me of how I "fixed" the mulberry tree though, we had a pine tree removed from the side of the ouse and the tree loppers accidentally dropped it onto the mulberry tree while trying to avoid the house. I taped the tree back together at where it broke off including a little sling to hold it up onto the branch while it was sealing. My partner wasn't sure it would work but the branch reattached and all was good.

Hope your grafts take :)

Sort:  

Guys whats grafting gonna do? Looks interesting. My garden is dead. So Im thinking maybe i go for trees?

The grafting let’s you have two varieties of apple on the same tree and they can also cross pollinate themselves. It saves room than growing 10 trees I can grow 5 trees that all have 2 types of apples. It’s mostly just a novelty though, unless your doing it because a certain tree isn’t hardy for your zone.

I’ve had great success splinting quite a few trees back together, we’ll done with yours ryivhmm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63893.57
ETH 2528.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65