You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PLANTING IN RUTH STOUT INSPIRED GARDEN BEDS

in #homesteading6 years ago

That's awesome! I've been fooling around with the idea of making a bushcraft shelter with some buddies of mine for some time. If we were ever to start a little garden, this would be the way I think. I'd just need to find plants that can survive ground level in your typical eastern US hardwood forest and can do with minimal maintenance.

Sort:  

Will you be planting in the forest? Are you looking for annual plants that you have to plant every year or perennial plants?

forest bed or a small clearing if we can locate one. Either way, direct sunlight would be limited. I think perennials or some sort of root vegetable (idk how well they work in shady areas) would be the best bet. I mean I could replant nettles and whatever we come across in the area, but it would be nice to have some good stuff to be able to come back to.

You could definitely do some self-seeding annual plants like lettuces kales beets carrots they will all do well and low Sun. There's a fair amount of fruit trees that will do well in the shade as well. I would definitely recommend the Paw Paw tree. Especially if this is like a bug out spot and you just want your food to blend in with the rest of the forest.

thanks a ton for the tip man! That's great advice and I will look into all of that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43