Upcycling and Homesteading projectsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading5 years ago

A couple of days ago, I harvested my mung beans. But since this was just experimental, I was only able to harvest just a few bean pods. It's alright though, I'll just go ahead and plant another batch.

dbcv18xt07.jpg

This time, instead of just one pot, I'll be using four plant pots for them. Then another four for my rice plants.

I used recycled bleach bottles for the pots. It was really simple and easy to make.

First, remove the funnel like top portion of the bottle. I kept those tops for possible projects in the future. I really tend to think twice about throwing those plastics. Most of the time I am able to use them somewhere else around the house anyways.

v174kts32z.jpg

Then make sure to thoroughly wash the bottles. You wouldn't want any chemicals going into your plants. Poke some holes at the bottom of your pot. This is so your plants won't be drowned by excess water.

5n7m8z7cwm.jpg

For easier arrangement, I bound the plastic pots using duct tape. I bound them further with two pieces of wood and some wire I found below our sink.

A couple of months ago, I started a compost pail where all the kitchen scraps go. The soil I got from there was really healthy, I was able to grow several plants. It's really convenient, I didn't need to but that much soil for my plants. I live in the city and I don't have any sort of patch of land to plant anything so I really need to plant on pots and buy soil just so I could plant.

qpswnf8gvz.jpg

Anyways, I just filled the pots with the soil from the compost pail and voila! I have my mini mung beans and rice field in pots.

rb2ax9cygk.jpg
Mung beans for replanting.

image
These are also gonna be replanted on more pots. 😊

I am more confident now that I'll be able to harvest more than what I got now. Soon I'll be able to cook a meal out of my plants. Woot! Woot!

Meanwhile...

Sometimes not all the kitchen scraps go to the compost pail. I sometimes plant them right away. Like these pechay.

image

I'll be cooking Beef Nilaga one of these days with these pechay plants. 😊😊😊

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Cool! Thank you! 😍

Ang laki ng kamay mo.

Grabe siya sa kamay ko! Close up kasi yung shot! 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62