You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Homesteading Vision: Motivations

in #homesteading6 years ago

This is a good vision, the only thing I would personally have problem with would be the meat part.

Me and my significant other hate living in the city and neither of us works a job that requires being here anyway, so we are looking at ways to move away. Unfortunately, it's not yet possible for us yet, but I do hope it's in our future.

Growing our own food would not really be our priority, but we would love to be surrounded by nature and to not have any people living in close proximity. Sofia is a filthy city to be living in.

Sort:  

Where is Sofia? I have not heard of that city before.

As for meat, my wife and I will probably never give it up but we do care about the humane treatment of animals which is why we want to raise our own. At least then we will know they are treated well.

Sofia is the capital of Bulgaria in Eastern Europe.

I agree homegrown meat is better than industrial one in every possible aspect, but I'm still firmly against it either way. I simply don't have the stomach for it (if you'd pardon the pun) anymore as I still feels it's killing a sentient being with willings and a clear will to live. And a home farm has an especially heart-breaking aspect, the animals get attached to the farmer and usually end up trusting and even loving them and that person then ends up taking their lives. It's like betraying the trust of a pet. Anyway, as I said, still better than industrial farming that's usually slavery and torture through and through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45