You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflections on Lammas Ecovillage

in #homesteading5 years ago

Great to know about this place, definitely a lifestyle that I'm curious about for the family. There are a few eco home educating communities I've heard of, and I sometimes get the urge to just drop everything and move to something like that.

I'd probably be keen to visit this place at some point! Something closer to London would definitely be a lot more realistic for us though

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Funny when I read 'sometimes get the urge to drop everything and move' I instantly though 'you'll never be able to give up London'! Then you finished on the 'ideally closer to London' quote.

I do love these places but I'm a SE lad at heart - TBH what I really want is a couple of acres in Kent - unfortunately I don't have half a million to buy a house and some pasture land down there. And for that price I certainly wouldn't get the two together.

The other thing about Lammas is that it's 10 years old now and there's hardly been an explosion of similar devz - shows you how hard it is.

Best get on that allotment wait list. You'll be on plot by 2024 if you get yr name down now!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahha that's because of me always going back and forth of wanting to and not wanting to stay close to family in London. Shhh, don't tell them that hahaha... Just kidding really, we actually now live just outside London and love it. Distance wise from London, it's perfect. Suits well for us only needing to go into London to work every now and then. No eco communities near here though :(

I've always wanted land that I can build on, and would love to just join forces with likeminded folks and buy a property with lots of land or a few acres together and start a community. Lots of logistics to it I know, but maybe this way, we can stay closer to London for something like this ;)

Oh yay! Let's set up a steem eco-community for real!

First step set up an account - have to have a think about the namem

Second step - accumulate about 200K steem to kick start the land purchase.That figure wouldn't be enough but it'd be a start!

Posted using Partiko Android

This does sound plausible you know. Could utilize Fundition? So many homesteaders and experts in these fields already on Steem, I'm sure there'd be interest in a UK Steem eco-community.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's something I've thought about before - like steempark 4.0

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71