The Squash-kin: A Semi-Conclusion To An Unkown (To Me) Plant Species That Survived

in #homesteading7 years ago

                      

The month of October is coming close to the end. 3 months ago, I shared a story about a plant that had successfully seeded itself in an open compostor that @knarly327 built from re-claimed palettes. 

He had picked these palettes up at a local company in our area. This company gives their palettes away for free, just so they don't have to pay to recycle them.

They never have trouble re-homing their shipping palettes especially since there was some huge forest fires in Canada and heavy storm damage across the USA, this summer.

These two "acts of nature" have resulted in a 40% rise in the cost of finished lumber

At any rate, an" unknown to me" plant manged to seed itself in this new compostor and between the two of us, (@knarly327 and I) we unanimously decided to let it grow, just to see what it was and what it would produce.

Here is the progression:

 

The leaf structure was large and had a beautiful shape.

                      

The flowers were big and yellow and the plant had loads of tendrils that wanted to and did wrap around anything in their pathways. Ultimately tendrils search for anything that they can use to help support the weight of the mother plant.

We Still Couldn't Tell What it Was So We Continued To Let it Grow

Grow it did. Every day this unknown plant just kept getting bigger and bigger. It made tending to the grass around it, next to impossible and took this pallet compostor right out of commission for the summer .

                       

It began to produce fruit of some description. The outer shell was dark green with ribs and mottling similar to what a zucchini looks like. The issue was that it wasn't oblong in its shape. Its shape didn't resemble what a zucchini should look like. (The photo below, is what a garden-grown zucchini looks like.)

                    

This is what "the fruit" looked like, that our "unknown plant" was busy producing.


                      

It seemed more round and more pumpkin-like.

We Let The Plant Continue To Grow

                      

Near the end of the plant's life-cycle, it became afflicted by white mildew. I didn't treat this condition. I just let it be.

 

You'll notice that I have placed some small wooden boards under the fruit because this area of our property holds water really well. I used the boards to keep the fruit from sitting directly on the ground and rotting as they tried to grow.

In The Meantime, A Butternut Squash Grew The Same Way (By Chance, Seeding itself)

                      

In May, I had topped up my garden barrel with compost right from my  well aged black plastic compostor. This soil still contained a viable butternut squash seed and when this plant presented itself, I let it grow too.

Harvesting was fun. It Was Like Searching For Hidden Treasure Under Each Leaf

                      

The yield was 7 "unknown squash" and 1 Butternut squash. I have stored these in my cold room but I am still unsure what the group of 7, actually are. A cross pollination between a squash and a pumpkin perhaps?

                     

I cut one of the "group of 7" open so that I could show you what the inside looks like. It's flesh has a decidedly yellow colour and the seeds are large. 

It smells like pumpkin, has big seeds like a pumpkin but has the outer appearance that is closer to a zucchini.

What do you think?

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...there will always be an experiment or two. Who am I kidding? My life is one big experiment. LOL! Join me if you dare.

~ Rebecca Ryan

 

 



Sort:  

This is the "Zucchini" variety of zucchini, I like to make pancakes with it and boutique.

If they are some big zucchinis, they must taste good! Hmm... Wondering if you have cooked with it?

@magnata, I do think you are correct. This is some type of zucchini...just a variety that I have never seen before or grown myself. Today I'm going to cook it and see what it tastes like and I will keep you posted. (PS: Look at the SBD that have been awarded to your comment, my friend. Well done!)

@rebeccaryan - ma'm I know this vegetable... We called it as Labu... we can make curry from it.... Nice you decided to share a good article about it.... Therefore, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Thank you for your comment @steemwija! I looked up what Labu is, because I had never heard of that type of squash before. Today I'm going to cook the squash that I grew and see what it tastes like. I will keep you posted. (PS: Look at the SBD that have been awarded for your comment. It pays to keep commenting and you have been so supportive and have been working really hard to engage in our community. Good for you!!! I'm very happy for you!)

@rebeccaryan
You are back. We are happy about that. Looks like you have a good "homesteading subject" today too. That helps a lot.
Steemit has been down for me a good part of the day. Even now I have some problems getting the functions to work for me.
I remember the plant from a few weeks/months ago. Remember?
I thought you might have to move out. Ha
Oh, I sent you another note. Nothing important to chase after.
Just when you get time.

Francis

Thank you Francis! It did restore my courage to keep going. ;)
Yes, this plant became a monster that wanted to take over everything.
I've had so many problems getting upvotes and comments to register. It has been exceptionally challenging to keep up. I think most people are feeling this frustration. It's like another level of an obstacle to over-come if you consider Steemit to be a game. I can see that it would drive many to give up.
Our team will keep going...none of us are quitters. LOL!

Hey I still remember when you shared this post with us my friend, when the plant just started to grow and we were all guessing what it is!!!
And look finally it's an ASP!!!
Alien Squash Pumpkin!! hahaha!
Do try it and let me know the taste my friend...btw you can use it for Steemit iron chef...the theme is pumpkin for this week!

Thank you Chef! I thought it would be kind of neat to follow the progression of this plant to the end. Today I plan to cook the ASP and if it is edible in the end, I may just enter it into the Steemit iron chef.

The seeds are definitely squash-like..with the body like watermelons. Their shape is is a giant zucchini.
So what's the taste? how did you cook it?
In the Philippines, probably we will chopped it in 1.5 in, 1 cm thick. Sautee with garlic, tomatoes and onion. Add a bit of H2O then let it simmer to cook. Personally, i will start with a it fried chopped pork before sauteeing.

Those flowers can also be covered in flour and deep fry. I do that here whenever I found some.

Nice progression of the life of the plant. Looks yummy, enjoy. Be well @rebeccaryan

Thanks for commenting @krazypoet. Today, I will be cooking it to find out how it tastes. :)

Very good @rebeccaryan I see you have found out what it is but I'm curious if you've tried it yet? I love Zucchini, especially off the grill! Congratulations on all your recent successful posts! I hope you and Dan are having a great weekend!

Thank you. Roasted it, then turned it into a coconut cream soup. Took me most of the day...LOL! Damn Alien Squash-kin.

Yum-Yum, gimme sum! I love coconut anything! You could put coconut on dog shit and I would eat it! Just thinking about it makes me want an Almond Joy! Please God tell me you know what an Almond Joy is? Coconut cream pie! Oh lord, you've really done it now! You have tripped my trigger!

nice post, well in my opinion it's outer look also resembles a type of watermelon, it can be easily determined if someone tastes it, if it tastes sweet then it should be a type of watermelon.

Thanks for your comment @adnanrabbani. The outer skin and the shape does resemble a watermelon, yet the seeds and flesh look more pumpkin-like. The flesh is not sweet in its raw state. I will cook it today to see how it really tastes once it is cooked. :)

yah nice idea, i hope it tastes great after cooked.

its like you adopt them and nursing, keep them familize, grow up!

Yes, I very much felt that I was to be the steward for this plant and that I had a duty to help it to survive. :)

Here, in Brazil, we have a lot of species! We eat huge amount of them! Great post!

Followed and upvoted!😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50