I Love Signage That Encourages Me To Think

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

                      

Especially if the message relates to a subject matter that is near and dear to my heart. I was passing through a small, rural town called Palmerston when I spied this sign. This was the first glimpse that I saw, so I decided to pull my car off the road, park and walk around the sign so that I could share its poignant messages with all of you.

                      

Harvesting is in full swing in the Province of Ontario, Canada currently. Just before I passed by this sign, I passed a huge farm that with lots of activity happening.

The Combines Were Lining Up To Take 32 Rows Of Corn Off At The Same Time

In many cases, the farmers still ban together (within their communities) to share heavy equipment and get everyone's crops off or harvested before our weather changes and ruins their produce. If they work in teams, big jobs can be accomplished faster.

In this video (which was posted by Youtuber: Henry Lunshof from his farm on Oct. 22/2015) you can see what I am talking about:

(It is a beautiful process to watch.)

This year has been tricky. We haven't had the sun-units that we normally would have and we've also had more rain than normal. As a result, hay was ready to be harvested early but it was really tricky to get it off the fields between all the rain. (Unfortunately this will eventually have an impact in a few months, when farmers would normally be feeding this material to their livestock.)  Some may have to buy more to supplement their animal feed inventory. We've had the same type of struggle this year with soybeans and corn.

                       

Every day that we have blue skies and no rain, our Farmers are currently working around the clock to harvest what they have been growing on their lands for the last 6 months.

They are currently moving tractors, combines and wagons from one farmer's lands to another, so if you happen to get held up in your travels in a parade of farming equipment, please remember that these folks are working around the clock and as fast as they can.

Ultimately, Farmers Feed Cities and every job that a farmer does, even if he or she is running a small farm is exceptionally important because we all have to eat.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...we will be braking for combines and tractors. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

And you wish to return to those positions
Where your memory recalls everything that is familiar, the machine and the green everything
It seems that your imagination always goes for something wonderful and beautiful .. We also hope that time back to us to see those beautiful positions to our previous
I always hope so

very good post my friend..
good job,
i vote and resteem..

you are welcome my fried..
i have new my post plase you are visit my blog..

A good article. There are few farmers in our country. Although the state encourages people with various favorable loans to create a farm, few people want to do it. It is a real and risky work.

These kinda things always make the day so much better and quotes too , they help you to think positive from every negative situation

My ex in laws are farmers, (we lost my kids father to cancer). I have a lot of respect for farmers, they have a work ethic like none other.

Being a city girl, I came into it not knowing what to expect on a farm. One of my early lessons was when not to burn trash... but we don't talk about that. Unless they bring it up. lol

Sadly my ex father in laws health is forcing him to retire and a family member is taking over the work on the farm this year. The industry has lost a good one for sure! :(

Oh boy, that is a really tough go. I'm sorry to learn about the loss for you and your kids. Many families face legacy issues when it comes to who carries on with the stewardship of the family farm. Farms that have been in the same family for 5-6 generations and now there is no one who is interested in continuing the operations or can afford to.
I wish your family all the best @debralee.

Nice message !!!

Those signs remind me of a sign I saw a couple weeks ago at a cattle ranch in south Texas. The sign read,"What do you call an angry herd of cows?"
Moooody !
Farmers and ranchers are the backbone of society , under appreciated and never thought about until the stores have a shortage of meat and vegetables.
Nice post,
@sultnpapper

yes its true that to keep running cities we need farmers than friends, need hard working and cultivation than desk job, because our body need to be feed thrice a day.

Food, Shelter, Clothing, Clean Water, Fresh Air and Love.
6 key essentials that the Human Body needs to survive and thrive.
Anything else is really just a bonus after that.
Thanks for your great comment @sheikh27!

thanks for your appreciation @rebeccaryan.

Hey @rebeccaryan long time. The above post one of my passions as you know. Have there been and advancements/progress regarding hemp cultivation for home building purposes, have you seen that video?

Cheer$:)

thumbnail_20171017_153627.jpg

Nice post,and you've gotten a point.. Without farmer no human being can survive.they deserve the best and may the Lord bless you for sharing this..

Great post. Few people raise food for themselves but it will be vital in the future. Large farmers have let the government tell them what to do for too long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66