Tangwystl Cottage - adding a little spice in my life

in #homesteading6 years ago

During yesterday's baking session, which I posted about here, I mentioned I'd run out of Allspice to use in the recipe and thought I had another packet, but which turned out to be whole spice and not the ground spice I needed.
DSC03038.JPG
d'oh!

So, luckily for me (and the recipe) I had on hand an old coffee/spice grinder I'd never had cause to try out before.
DSC03043.JPG

I have no idea how old the thing actually is. I've had it (she mumbles shamefully) for about 13 years without touching it, and it looks a little beaten up anyway, poor thing.
DSC03040.JPG
DSC03039.JPG

A very simple design process - in one end and out the other - with a hand crank and a catchment drawer.
Dunno if you can really see it well enough, but I took an up-close of the grinding mechanism. Probably very similar to the pepper grinder we flavour our dinners with.
DSC03041.JPG
DSC03042.JPG

So the berries go in the top bowl, which slopes down towards the grinder. The lid swivels out of the way, but not enough if you need to reach into the middle area. I imagine it comes apart for cleaning, but I'm not sure if I'm game enough to attempt it (yet, anyway).
Next step, crank the handle (clockwise only, as I found out) and hope that you're actually grinding stuff.
DSC03044.JPG

Pull out the catchment scoop to check on progress - stuff hasn't been ground as finely as I'd hoped for, but beggars and all that.
And in the end it didn't make the buns taste stronger like I feared, so things all worked out for the good.
DSC03045.JPG
I think I will now be more inclined to try grinding my own spices and herbs, thanks to this little experiment.

Allspice - the fun facts (thanks wiki).
Latin: Pimenta dioica - originates in the southern Mexico/Central America region
Its aka's are: pimenta/Jamaica pimenta/myrtle pepper
Part used: the unripe green berries
History: The name "allspice" was coined as early as 1621 by the English, who thought it combined the flavour of cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves.

image source
check out the image source link if you are interested in learning about allspice's health benefits


Tangwystl Cottage banner small.jpg

ravenruis.png

banner2.png

Mannabase UBI - sign up via referral link, and help spread the word:
mannabase referral invite

(extra tags: #baking #newzealand #spice #howto #foodphotography)

Sort:  

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

I thought you might have had a trip over to Oamaru this weekend for the Steampunk festival. But looks like you've been busy at home instead?

Bummer, I didn't realise it was on. But its quite a distance anyway - although I should put it on my bucket list! Maybe next year :D

the lid only turning a little is to keep prying fingers out.
it is designed as a one-way street, in whole, out dust. you would feel the pain.

lol I'm cringing just thinking about the possible damage now

I suspect it is well over 50 Years old I remember one of my great Aunts having one and me helping to use it way back when I was maybe 10 Years old

Oooooh, now that would be so cool if it was!

Glad to see the grinder is still in action. I like old furniture/ tools, I don't really like the Ikea style of throwing things out after a year

I agree. Our world has become something awful with this throwaway attitude - and it really only suits the manufacturers, not the consumers.

Plus, the quality of items has gone down greatly, and you don't see pride in creating things much these days.

Sorry I missed the cut off for voting on this post - very interesting post!

Thank you, and no worries :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15