You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to top up a lasagne 'no dig' garden bed

in #homesteading7 years ago

Good stuff!

I am trying to switch to no-dig raised beds for all my gardens. So much easier.

I'm looking forward to collecting another huge lot of autumn leaves this year (the only upside of an approaching winter) and adding them to the compost and on beds as mulch.

As for the lasagne layering, I tend to end up doing that in building up new compost piles - and one can never have too many of those in the garden! Hopefully the 'big reveal' will show how well they've transformed into black gold. :D

Sort:  

Yeah, I found that the hardest part with my compost bin was to accumulate enough green and brown material to fill it to the top and leave it to compost....I kind of ended up throwing random scraps and brown leaves in there along the way.

I'm a bit jealous about all of your autumn leaves! Where we are we don't really get a real 'autumn', so I usually prune shrubs/trees and pile them up to die/brown off.

I was surprised at how rich and healthy the compost turned out, it was nice to see the 'black gold' all things considered - always room for improvement though :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38