You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Goat birth control?! Let me show you the best invention ever!

in #homesteading7 years ago

That seems like a really interesting invention. I've had goats in the past, so I also know how stinky the bucks can get (especially when being transported in the back of a stationwagon!)
I'd imagine the only other solution would be to put a wether in with him, but I think allowing him his natural position in the herd is far better.

I wonder what the long-term effect might be of his continued frustration, though? Have you read anything on whether any bucks eventually give up trying to mate?

He's a lovely looking boy, that's for sure. :)

Sort:  

Bah ha ha! I have also had to transport a buck in my car, so I feel your pain.
Yes, that was my original solution, he has a wether buddy, Bobbin, who keeps him company when he has to be separated, but I always wanted him to be able to stay with his herd. They all seem happier that way.

I don't know if any studies have been done on the long term effects of keeping the apron on. For us I don't believe it will be an issue since we aren't leaving it on permanently. In a few months, we will take it off and allow them to breed as they come into season. They just need some time between giving birth and getting pregnant again, since they are perfectly happy getting pregnant within a week of giving birth. :/

I seriously doubt that he would ever give up trying. He is way too persistant for that, haha!

Thanks for the compliment! I dearly love my goaties! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69026.28
ETH 2737.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71