You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Little Off-Center

in #homesteading7 years ago

Society, when it doesn't feel comfortable or accommodating to those who don't fit neatly inside its perimeters, tends to try guilting or shaming those outsider back 'into line'.

Instead of celebrating our differences, we are taught to fear them as something disruptive and harmful to the societal system. I agree that it can often be extremely difficult to continue battling against said system as it continually demands you fit within its boundaries so it knows how to handle you.

My words of encouragement would be to continue presenting this happy version of yourself to your family and friends, and eventually it might sink in that you are in fact happy & content in your lifestyle choice; and that it is a choice. :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words. I think when I move back home and they see me more regularly, it will help more, too. (Plus they will be getting eggs and milk and things from me...) lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61399.54
ETH 3383.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50