The Summer Sausage is Complete

in #homesteading6 years ago

Today was demolding day for the sausages. About seven weeks ago @shalomacres, @beatitudes8, and I made summer sausage off of a cow that we butchered and some lamb and some deer meat. Here is the post on making the summer sausage. https://steemit.com/homesteading/@beatitudes8/making-summer-sausage-wih-shalomacres
Here are the sausages hanging up.

I started by bringing them all up to our back porch so that way I could take off the casings. The ones that I did first weren't near as moldy as the final ones that we cleaned.

DSC00750.JPG

Here they are right after the casing was taken off. Last year when we took off the casings the entire sausage was covered in mold.

DSC00751.JPG

As we got closer to the last ones we did notice that they were quite a bit moldier than the first ones. I am not really sure why some of them are moldier than the other ones sicne they were all hanging together in the same spot in the root cellar.

DSC00752.JPG

Then the sausages came into the house to be wiped down for packaging. We found out the hard way that you need to use a dry rag instead of a wet one. When we used the wet rag it would leave blue mold streaks that wouldn't come off no mater how hard you scrubbed. When we used the dry rag it took a lot longer but there was no blue streaks in the sausage and they were a lot cleaner.

DSC00755.JPG

After scrubbing the sausages it was time to wrap them in freezer paper and then make room in the freezer for 300 lbs of sausage.

DSC00760.JPG

The finished sausage.
DSC00757.JPG

Thanks for upvoting and commenting.

Sort:  

This post has cautiously recieved the #healthy-home seal of approval.

I would trust a tiny bit of blue mold over sulfites, nitrites and all that is added to commercial sausage.


@healthy-home is a curation account seeking to grow the Steemit platform by supporting high quality content producers.

All content is MANUALLY curated. You can support this work through Steem donations, upvotes, and SP delegations.

Thank You!

Haha ....ewwwww!

It looks totally UN #healthy-home food....

But I am guessing that the mold and all is normal!? Is there away to avoid it? I mean, I love blue cheese... But meat? Seems spoilt!

I will trust you this once!!

Standby for a visit from @healthy-home

Peace

Hey man..since you will be sending me some seeds here soon, want to include one of these as well? I've never had sausage made like this before and I'm sure I can make room for it! : - D

Haha. I will have to get those seeds shipped soon so you can plant them. Thanks!

DON'T forget the sausage!!!! :-D

upvoted and resteemed. upvoting doesn't work sometimes but resteeming always works. upvote me back?

@a-0-1 if you have few or no Followers yet then your Resteem DOES NOT benefit @randomstuff ...

It is just like a bookmark for yourself to find a Post easily in the future, but it doesnt help people see the Post....since no one is watching your feed yet.

Peace

That looks sick. I'm assuming the mold is normal and it tastes ok?

🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45