Our First Blue Egg! Ameraucana Hens are Finally LayingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

_DSC0196.JPG

It's been nearly 7 months now that we picked up our ameraucana chicks back in February. We've been waiting patiently for them to start laying. Our black star chickens of the same age had been laying at 5 months old.

I knew that some chicken breeds took longer than others, but nearing 7 months we began to wonder if there was something preventing them from laying. We have had some chickens that were very particular about how the coop was set up before they would lay. Building a better roost, making sure the nests were nice a cozy, and adding wooden eggs in their nests helped out when we first started.

We have a total of 5 ameraucana which will be great breeding stock for our Rhode Island Red rooster. After my current batch of eggs hatch we will try this hybrid. One is an albino so I'm curious to see whether it lays a white or blue egg.

_DSC0116.JPG

My favorite has been the runt of the litter. She is the smallest, but I think she is the fastest and best flyer. I also like her coloring, mostly black with several gold streaks down her chest and back.

Have you bred ameraucanas before? How long did it take for them to start laying? Let me know as I'm curious to hear your experience.

Rakkasan.jpg

Sort:  

This is great! May I link this article in the next Weekly Homesteading Newsletter and feature your username? Let me know! Thanks!

Absolutely! Thanks for reading about our Ameraucanas :) I will look forward to reading your newsletter!

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Yay! That egg looks pretty big. Fingers crossed it's just the first of many.

Thanks for the support @aunt-deb ! We are hoping so too.

That's a long time to wait for a blue egg! If I remember correctly our took like 6 months or more too before they started laying. Some breeds just take a little longer to mature. It can be a bit nerve racking while you wait.

Hopefully they will lay steadily now. It will be worth the wait then!

All good things in life are worth the wait :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53