You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homestead Happiness is... eating a meal you have grown / reared yourself

in #homesteading7 years ago

Lovely! I was just thinking this same thing a few minutes ago about the independence and how much joy I get from serving food we have raised ourselves. This thought was while I was preparing our salad with all kind of goodies from the garden from lettuces to edible flowers, peppers and onions, plus some greens that are growing wild like the Lamb's Quarter. Even threw in a couple of amaranth leaves.
Soon we will be getting our own eggs too and I am very excited about that.
I NEED to remember to try growing kohlrabi next year. I have never had it but it sure sounds good.

Sort:  

The edible flowers sound good - what ones do you grow? I've recently learnt that Lamb's Quarter is what we call Fat Hen here in the UK - I believe the chickens like it too 😊

Kohlrabi is good as you eat both the leaves and the roots - although I don't know yet what it tastes like !

I grow pansies, borage, and nasturtiums for many reasons but these are the three I use most in my salads. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68694.24
ETH 3284.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77