Bounties of the Land Episode 8 American Beauty Berry: Wild Foraging Taste Test Video & Highly Informative Article.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Welcome to a new episode of Bounties of the Land!



In this article AND video, we will go over a beautiful and edible native plant that is abundantly available in the wilds of South East America known most commonly as the American Beauty Berry!


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


That's because it's just so beautiful!


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


There are other names for it as well, and I will cover in this written article some of the science, history, uses and more! Check the video for taste test review and harvesting. 


  • Scientific name: Callicarpa americana, Callicarpa japonica
  • Alternate Names: French mulberry, sourbush, bunchberry, or purple beauty-berry. 
  • Edible: ripe berries raw or cooked/preserved. 
  • Where: South Eastern American Woodlands, the Caribbean, and northern Mexico.
  • When: late summer, fall
  • Nutritional Value: Vitamins, Minerals, & carbohydrates
  • Other uses: Beauty berry leaves contain several very strong mosquito repellent molecules. Studies conducted by the Agricultural Research Service has shown two compounds – callicarpenal and intermedeol - are responsible for the repellant.Toxicity of these molecules is unclear, but I know of nothing bad from my experience. The roots, leaves, and branches were used by various Native American tribes for medicinal purposes to treat malarial fevers and rheumatism. The roots were used to treat dizziness, stomach aches, and dysentery. Roots and berries were boiled and drunk to treat colic. Wildlife: The fruit is high in moisture content and is an important food source for more than forty species of songbirds including the American Brown Robin.   


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


In Greek, the genus name Callicarpa means callos "beauty" and carpos "fruit”.   


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


American beautyberry is a fast growing native perennial shrub. It grows 5-8 feet tall & almost as wide. It is found in woods, particularly in moist areas under open pine canopies.

The elliptical to ovate shaped leaves have an opposite arrangement with saw toothed margins. The underside of the leaves  are commonly covered with hairs. 


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


The twigs are gray to reddish brown. The flowers are blue, violet, pink, or white.  In August or September, clusters of small purple berries ripen. Each berry contains 2-4  seeds about 1/16 in. long.


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


I love this berry because it tastes quite good, it is super abundant in the late summer/fall, and is very easy to find due to the large size of the bush and the very bright berry clusters!


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


As with most plants, the plant itself has other uses which can be useful to someone who really lives off the land. 

 

(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


You can propagate for its beauty or as food/medicine.  Transplant volunteer plants, softwood cuttings, or seeds. 

The volunteer plants are very strong and can be dug up and transplanted quite easily with high success. 


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


You can also take cuttings, though it is much more difficult than simply transplanting.  Cut a stem 4”- 6” long in the summer and fall. Dip the cut end into a rooting transplant media. Keep the temperature of the media between 70-75 degrees F. Water the cuttings and cover with plastic to keep it from drying out and stay moist. Roots often develop within a few weeks. After rooting begins, remove the plastic longer and longer each day for about 10 days.  After 10 days, remove the plastic permanently. 


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


You can also plant the seeds; all berries have seeds.  You can plant them in the fall, and they will likely sprout in the spring in proper conditions.



(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


I hope this post was informative, inspiring and enjoyable!

Now here is the short video of the harvest and taste test!




You can check out my last Bounties of the Land (Preparing For Winter) here if you so desire. 


(All Photos are taken by and property of me)


I love photography, because it is a way to capture so much beauty and the best way to share!

As Always I appreciate your support and welcome your feedback!


SteemOn!

Sort:  

Love to see manifestations of nature i have never seen before, what a beautiful berry. We have unlimited black currant here, not that shiny colour but also yummy times when the season arrives. Wish i would make it to Steemfest so we could exchange our berries (and much more) :-) Maybe next year when my average post rewards are a bit higher. Much love!

Yes nature provides all, we are nothing without it. It deserves reverence. What a sad state humanity has fallen into.

You should totally come to SteemFest anyways! It will be worth it, you should have also entered my free ticket giveaway.

Blessings Brother~*~

Beauty berries in a beautiful post!!! Nature truly is astounding!!! I love that you appreciate it so much -- something most people never give a second thought in their hectic days of concrete, offices and air conditioning!! Thanks for bringing it to us @quinneaker. Truly another great service to the Steemit community. Bless you back! <3

Thank you for such a comment and for the support here and off of Steemit!

∞§∞EverLove∞§∞

The pleasure and blessing are mine @quinneaker! Truly ! <3

∞§∞EverLove∞§∞

Sustainable abundance!

Yes!

Bless~*~

Those are some pretty berries! Dang informative!

Hey thanks!

Great to see you again, been thinking of ya, imagining your cool cover photos and delightful beers!

I have been so buy haven't had time to check any posts at all besides my own comments of which I am barely keeping up with as it is!

Will pop over soon!

Wishing you and yours the best~*~

Hehe, no worries man. I know what it's like when things get hectic as anything! I have a couple of delightful beers I am gonna try later!

Oooo

Have a sip for me ;-)>

Sho will!! :0D

Mmmmmmmmmmm taste good =)>

It is a beautiful berry. I heard of them but had never really seen them. before. You look just too cool man.....living the dream.....Thanks

Happy to share and appreciate the support.

I am living the dream~

Dream awake~*~

Just go we are on one goal to have our dream. go for it.

What beautiful berries - and I love that your outfit compliments the colour. Thank you for yet another post full of information and positive "naturing/nurturing" for us to feast on!

Yes!!!

Very well said. Thanks for the conscious comment!

Haaa. My king of the Eden jungle... @quinneaker you were even looking like a flower...your dress is awesome... Nice one...very informative ...keep it up...😎

So glad you liked it. Appreciate your comments.

Welcome as always... Keep steeming as usual...do you enjoy frog 🐸 meat...😜 Updated on the benefits...

Never actually had frog meat, but I am sure cooked its just fine!

Sound like a very interesting blog!

I will give it a try when I visit the area....looks yummy

Delicious and nutritious!

Fantastic colour coordination! A beautiful berry in deed :)

Glad you appreciate the color coordination ;-)>

Dare I say some what reminiscent of a smurf? :P

hahaha he may be more iconic but I sure think I have more style ;-)>

Definitely.

Maybe somewhere between a smurf and captain Jack Sparrow!

hahahahaha yea more like it ;-)>

Yeah it will be.

will be what?

Wow! Love the color of the berries. I never seen this before! Great post and nice photos :)

So glad you like it!

Thanks for sharing your perspective.

SteemON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32