A day setting up a new sawmill

in #homesteading6 years ago

Yesterday was absolutely beautiful here. It felt like mid spring, especially after weeks of grey skies.

InShot_20180221_101147536.jpgThe saw head had to come off the pallet first

I was able to get the sawmill off the pallet and all lined up. I had no idea how much would be involved in just uncrating it!
You can see in this pic from last week how compact it was. I was surprised to see that many of the components are actually installed backwards or upside down in order to make it easier to ship. So, I had to take it apart in order to put it together. All the components are also bolted to the pallet.

IMG_20180218_131256_551.jpgFrom the other day to show how it started out

IMG_20180220_135035.jpgGetting the feet installed

I was able to get the rails lined up with their feet installed with some blocks underneath so they don't sink into the ground.

IMG_20180220_141104.jpgAll lined up with the legs on

The most harrowing moment was having to use the pallet forks to lift the saw head off the pallet. There is only millimeters of clearance before you hit the motor. This saw head was just swinging as it hung there. I have never driven the tractor so carefully. Another full day and I should have it operational.

IMG_20180221_091927_882.jpgWifey keeping the sawmill from swimming violently while moving

IMG_20180221_095642_01~2.jpgMoving saw head

IMG_20180221_095657_01~2.jpgBeautiful day!

All the pictures and words here are my own original work unless quoted and sourced. #steemitusa #homesteadersonline

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Sophisticated tools. here I rarely see people using such tools. passion in working. good job @qberry

All the hand working logs is really impressive to me. I enjoy seeing people get it done in a simple fashion as well. I'm too old now to not use all the help I can muster :)

How old are you now.
how long you take shelter in the wood world.

  1. I have always loved building stuff, but I've only been on the farm full time for a year. I still have a lot to do.

I'm still single. I have 2 years working in wood field. actually a lot of work can be produced wooden juice. but there must be skill

That looks like so much fun. Cannot wait to see what you can make with it

Me either, I have a whole list. But first I have to build a shed to put it in. This location is temporary so I'll have to do it all again.

Gosh that would confuse me terribly having them put it together backwards - not sure I'd ever get it going lol

Crazy thing was the only instructions were on a DVD so I was there with a laptop in the bright sun trying to watch it as I went.

Oh haha that would not be easy - nothing worse than trying to watch a screen in the sun!!!

Nice addition to the homestead! I want to get one but I do not really have a need for a sawmill. If I was building timber frame houses it would be feasible but we are building AirCrete.

Aircrete is awesome. I'd love to build something with it some day!

Took me 3 days to put together and get mine working back in 2006. Thousands of pieces lol. Looks like your doing great.
DSC_0028.JPG

Thanks, I appreciate it. Yours looks great and ready to go. If I could keep the rain away I could get it done. Yesterday was the only dry day we've had in a long time.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65692.16
ETH 3511.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53