You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Week at The Walkerland Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago

Man, you’ve been busy! That flag poppy is ridiculous! :) I can’t wait to see pictures of your new kitchen.

As far as being a hermit.... I wasn’t always a home body. But it wasn’t until I became a home body that I started sleeping well and dealt with stress in a healthier way. Time slowed down and I actually began to feel like I had purpose, not just a to do list. I don’t think we were meant to be solitary, but I don’t think we were meant to be around crowds of people all the time, all 5 senses being over stimulated all the time, running our asses off trying to check things off our lists all the time, spending a fraction of our waking time away from home all the time. No wonder we all have so much anxiety. We weren’t built for that kind of life. Maybe it would be different if the change from mostly staying and working at or around home, living in smaller groups and communities, to thousands and thousands of people all hurrying around all over the damn place had happened more slowly. But it’s happened so fast, I don’t think humans have had the time to emotionally evolve to cope with the stress of it all. Hope all that made sense... :\

Sort:  

I agree. The whole multitasking thing is hugely stressful. One reason why I don't have a cell phone, and all our phones are corded.

I wish I had more community around me, but this town is turning into a bedroom community (was a farming community when we moved here 30 years ago) and I just don't connect with people here.

While I am perfectly content to stay on my farm for days on end, sometimes it's nice to share ideas with a different human than family....

We don't have cell phones either. We used to for a lot of years with our jobs but it's just not something that aligns well with our principles. Privacy, child labour, pollution, greed, radiation ...I don't like what it's doing to people.

I totally hear you. We aren't in the best place for like minded community. We don't seem to be on the same wavelength of a lot of the people we have met so far. I like to think they are out there and I just haven't found them yet. I am sure it's the same for you!

It's nice we have found people here on steemit to chat with :)

What you say makes so much sense! I can relate to a lot of it! I often yearn for that idyllic small community village, homestead community. It would be so cool to live in a self sufficient community where you could work together, bater and trade products and services and have your own homestead to be creative and alone when you want to be. We have an on-line version on steemit :) - just need a real world one.

Not many people that I know would choose our lifestyle. They come for a relaxing weekend to escape but they are happy to go back to it all. They feel energized and stimulated from cities and crowed streets, shopping and all that. It's a lot easier in a lot of ways. Their busy lives make it possible to avoid facing real issues with their kids, marriages, health, society etc. Distractions are the name of the game ...or so it seems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60412.47
ETH 2375.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62