Sort:  

Absolutely learn as much as you can! And ask questions of veteran goat keepers. Some things you just learn from experience, but getting as much info ahead of time as you can is certainly helpful!
What breeds are you considering?

Best of luck!

I haven't gotten too far into it, but I'm interested in the Nigerian Dwarfs for dairy goats. I'd also like meat goats, but I've not looked too much into it yet.
My daughter wants fainting goats, but with her startle reflex and her cleaning and eating habits, she's all the fainting goat I can handle!

I understand learning through experience, but my experience comes in the form of mistakes more often than successes, and I want as few mistakes as possible when it comes to living creatures! 😬

Haha! That's funny about your daughter. :D
I've only ever raised Nigerians, which I dearly LOVE and the milk is fantastic.
We have always had the back up plan that we would eat any of the babies we couldnt sell, but so far we have had no problems selling them. Meat goats are a thing we want to try eventually also. I dont know if we would want to do full sized meat goats, or pygmies. (Pygmy goats are actually miniature meat goats, whereas Nigerians are miniature dairy goats.)
I totally understand about learning so you dont make mistakes with the animals. I, also, learn by mistake, (after mistake, after mistake), and I commend you for doing your research! I get SO frustrated with people who buy goats on a whim and then end up with sick or dying or injured goats because of something simple they could have prevented if they had done a simple google search...
So much information is out there for free!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69026.28
ETH 2737.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71