Simple Homemade Lotion and Lip Balm

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1508230867338.jpg
hard lotion bars

FB_IMG_1508230860559.jpg
lip balm

It's simple, really!
Take equal parts by weight: olive oil, beeswax, and a butter (as in, shea, mango, cocoa).
Put them in a double boiler on the stove or a crockpot.
FB_IMG_1508230950259.jpg

Melt.
Stir.
Pour into molds or lip balm tubes!

Soft, good smelling, natural goodness. :)

PS - if you're confused by a hard lotion bar, you just rub it on your skin like lip balm or soap. It will soften a bit from friction and warm skin and apply. I would carry mine in my bag in an old mint tin, or store at home in a travel soap dish. You can use a soap mold for it, or in this photo, I used silicone cupcake molds in the shape of ice cream cones, filled only as high as the bottom section went.

Sort:  

@phoenixwren, I've tried to make my own before but with slightly different ingredients and it definitely did not turn out as well as these look! May I link this article in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter? Let me know as soon as possible! Thanks!

Of course! I'd be honored. :)

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Excellent blog @phoenixwren. Upvoted and resteemed. Sharing in facebook and twitter. I am part of a group that make almost all our products.

Cool, thanks!

Excellent job @phoenixwren! Thank you for sharing <3 <3

Wow I must try this. I use a lot of body lotion. Thank you for sharing

I hope you like it, I found it worked really well and it's really dry where I live!

wow sounds so simple and easy to make! l love natural goodness🌲 thank you for sharing✨

Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67