You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparing For Winter - Butchering Chickens & Making Tomato Sauces

in #homesteading7 years ago

I love seeing the day to day real life (as opposed to unnatural, "food comes from a box" life) of this. I saw a YouTuber who explained the cone thing who sold his chicken meat and eggs through a CSA and it was far easier to watch the quick, conscious, and careful guy do it than some horror show factory farm.
I am trying the freezing tomatoes thing for the first time this year, but so far my tomato harvest has been really low. The plants got ENORMOUS, far bigger than previous years, but far fewer blooms and toms. I'm not sure exactly what happened, but I have a sneaking suspicion since my balcony garden acted very slow and sluggish and the sage keeps browning on the edges as soon as the leaves are a decent size (it was eaten by bugs once, but recovered). All the weird-acting plants, including the toms, I got from a community garden program, which is cool, right? They started them in their greenhouse.
Their greenhouse in a very polluted, industrial neighborhood.
Coincidence? Maybe. But suspicious nonetheless.

Sort:  

Oh, also! I keep meaning to ask you. You do all this work on land you rent. Is there any hope for a rent-ro-own possibility in future, or would you want to go someplace else if you were buying?

The landowner here doesn't want to sell, so we are biding our time, just feeling grateful to be able to rent a great place like this and one day probably in the next few years be able to be somewhere of our own <3 How about you? Are you wanting to be out of the city and on some land?

For sure. My dream is a tiny house/cob house/earthship in a forest. And a wee electric Smart car in a garage. :)

Aw...sorry to hear you didn't get many tomatoes...and coincidence, I think not...I'm sure you did plenty of troubleshooting along the way. You're doing a wonderful job showing how it's possible to grow your own food in an apartment, each year you will incorporate more and more to all the nooks and crannies :) :) <3 Big Love and Respect @phoenixwren!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47