You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Double Down Chicken Disaster Strikes UK Homesteading Community

in #homesteading7 years ago

It's a never ending battle against the wildlife, my problem here in Canada is always the raccoon and Blackbears. I'm currently taking a year off chicken till we can totally redo a coop and run with an electric fence.

Sort:  

I think I have it lucky here. Keeping bears out I think would need more than my mesh fences.

Not sure about raccoons - do they dig or climb?

They climb AND dig and they have thumbs!! They are terrible! We've lost several hens to raccoons, until my husband made a small enclosure to lock them up at night. He built it from some left over commercial bathroom partisans from a job he had been working on, with 4 slide locks on the door. They haven't figured out how to get the door open yet, but they have figured out how to open the bottom two slide locks. We'll be installing padlocks soon. I hate raccoons.

Raccoons sound nasty. I'm glad Wales is a raccoon-free zone...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51