Got the woodshed done and spent the morning cutting firewood.

in #homesteading6 years ago

I know it was a while ago now when I asked for some advice finish up my woodshed. I had a big plan to try to have a door on the back side so I could rotate the wood, but in the end I gave up on the plan and went with the right and left side rotation. I want to rotate the wood between the dry stuff from the year before and also separate the good hardwood that I buy and the less ideal popular that I cut from the yard.

IMG_6981.JPG

Like I said in the end I just went ahead and closed the back wall of the shed, so no fancy door or anything, which I think will be just fine in the end.

IMG_6982.JPG

I was excited to finally have a few hours in the morning to myself and get a bit of wood cut for the winter. I have quite a few trees that are down in the yard, from some of the storms and just there natural life expectancy.

IMG_6979.JPG

Here's the results of one pretty decent sized tree I splint in the yard. It's always a bit sad to see just how much wood it really is once you split it all up. It looks like so much when it's a huge tree and still looks like a pretty good amount scattered on the ground, but the real depressing part is when you finally get it back into the shed and stack in nicely.

IMG_6983.JPG

Here's all the wood from about 4 hours out in the yard and two large trees that were already limbed and laying on the ground. Looks like I'm going to be pretty busy to get ready for winter, or more likely, we'll be ordering some wood again.

It's just getting so hard to find the time with the growing family and still working full time!

Oh well, that's life I guess.


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Working hard to get your sexy lumberjack mojo back hey 🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Stockpiling for winter already. Must be a long winter for you. We're loving our little wood burner this season.

Were you singing while you worked..
unnamed.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91