Close Encounter with a Black Bear! When raising chickens in the yard.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I was reminded today about my early experiences with my own chickens and run in with predators when I was reading this post today from my friend over @flemingfarm

ChickenCoopBuilding2 002.jpg

When I first started out with chickens my friends had actually dropped of a small little hutch, with half a dozen chickens they had in the city. Turns out the neighbors didn't want them around so they came to stay with me.
ChickenCoopBuilding1 004.jpg

ChickenCoopBuilding1 009.jpg

I was amazed at just how quickly a curious bear came snooping.

ChickenCoopBuilding1 007.jpg

Then just how quickly he learned how to open the door to the coop as well.

ChickenCoopBuilding2 023.jpg

ChickenCoopBuilding2 024.jpg

This bear was quite fearless and proceeded to snoop around in the yard for quite a while. I was in the back window of the house taking these photos, and he had no problem coming right below me in the window.

ChickenCoopBuilding2 028.jpg

ChickenCoopBuilding2 002.jpg

ChickenCoopBuilding2 029.jpg

Needless to say this first experiment with chickens didn't last very long till we build a proper coop.

Sort:  

Does the bear visit often, I mean if you’re in the garden and the bear shows up do you run into your house. Cheers mike

Wow, I guess you really need some stricter mechanisms for opening the coop. At least it made for some great pictures!

Wow...close is right! And just a cub. I wonder where momma bear is? hmmm

An amazing encounter. Very cool.

That is a personal experience that I would not like to have it. If the cub was there, where is the rest of its family?

I am SO happy I don't have to deal with bears here. They are just too damned smart and a bit too destructive.

I grew up by Yosemite and in the park every year there are multiple cars that are demolished by bears as they go gathering our food stuffs. Rip the doors right off, pull seats out, and generally lay waste to the vehicle. Cabins, houses, food stashes of any kind seemed all fair game.

I look forward to seeing your coop post!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank God the bear wasn't so big, its the bear cub. It was likely looking for a chicken meal :)

Hey @phelimint, Your post has been featured in the offgrid-online #outdoor-adventure curation post - feel free to have a look at:
https://steemit.com/adventure/@offgrid-online/outdoor-adventure-1-an-offgrid-online-curation-quest

Aww that bear looks a little bit skinny so it may be hungry... great photos and awesome post! We have some awesome homesteaders in the veteran group so I'm sure they can help you to build a new chicken coop.
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66915.04
ETH 2586.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68