You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Propagating Red Mulberry Trees From Hardwood Cuttings

in #homesteading6 years ago

Exciting!! I learned last year we have a mature native red mulberry here. Figured it out luckily during fruiting stage. Hope your cuttings take!

I'm working on cuttings this year for the first time. As with most things, haphazardly lol. Learned a lot of info here in your post.

I've got elderberries from my aunt's they rooted for us. I cut black raspberries, blueberry, soon to be blackberries, and finally granny Smith apples from when it was heavily pruned. About to pot them up. Half the buds have opened into leaves already!! Don't see any roots yet, tho. I totally did not do any of the things you did. Haha! I can't stick them outside yet as it's still too cold. If they flower inside I'll just have to hand pollinate. They're soaking in liquid rooting solution in water. Fingers crossed a couple take for you and me.

Sort:  

Hi @phedizzle, thanks! we are all learning together :) I don't know a ton about cuttings, am also still learning. I know enough to be dangerous haha!

So awesome that you are experimenting with rooting all those different plants! I'd love to hear which ones are successful for you :) The roots can take time... patience is key! Also you may consider putting a plastic bag over your cuttings and misting them to keep them moist... that is recommended for some less than easy to root cuttings. Good luck to us both!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61378.33
ETH 2960.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49