You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rocky Bottom Sampling @ Mira Creek- Say What?

in #homesteading6 years ago

This is such a fascinating post! The pictures are great, the step by step detail is thorough, and it reminds me of being part of The Stream Team in my high school Biology class sponsored by the Missouri Department of Conservation. We are now living on a property with a natural stream which is also a runoff creek. The unfortunate part of that is we have a lot of "traditional" farmers around here, so all of their runoff makes it down to us, including any trash/debris. I'd love to rehab the creek when possible. Good news that your creek is in good shape! My favorite part of your post is the ending where you said:

I wish I didn’t know exactly what all was in there. I like to sit in the creek in the summer. Now I am gonna need a chair, not a rock

Sucks your plan has to change, but you said it in such a funny way. { : Welcome to the community!

Sort:  

Thank you for such a wonderful reply! I am glad I could spark a good memory (I hope it was good). I ain't kiddin', I had no idea how many critters were in there and I 'used' to sit on rocks in the creek all the time. We counted a lot of swimmers in there that I didn't know about :) if you get my drift? I will definitely want to participate again. I will likely take the 4 hour class so I can be a listed volunteer, plus I will be able to call each of those critters by name. AND....I just found the most fascinating opportunity at a college an hour away. They are recruiting volunteers to log data about peep frogs. We have a lot of frogs here on our property in our creek, swamp and pond. They need you to commit to listening the same time(s) a day for the same length and log the different frogs you hear. I think that would be so cool! Anyway, I sure appreciate you reading my post and I do hope you enjoyed my little afternoon recap.

And yes I did love being part of the Missouri stream team. I almost applied for a semi paid volunteer position restoring rivers and creeks after highschool I loved it so much. Poison ivy is not my friend, tho, and I was working too many hours to be free to travel across the state. The biology lessons and field trips were some of my favorite activities in highschool. Another funny thing is how two years ago I was friended on that soical media website that shalln't be named by the founder of the stream team. Didn't know him but he was the original organizer. It's a small world sometimes, isn't it?

I have been looking at groups and classes in our surrounding area and I am really happy with opportunities. I need make some choices. Field trips were the best. Sounds like you have a little paradise. I love hearing the frogs, insects and the birds. It is a new, beautiful peace I am able to enjoy. Thanks for stopping by!

Sounds like so much fun!! Hopefully you bring us along for the journey of identifying frogs. Our septic lagoon and creek sound like frog paradise right now. Now you've got me wondering what all the different types are. It's that time of year where they loudly ribbet from sunset to sunrise. A lovely sound. It's funny because when we were looking to buy this property, part of what we fell in love with was the sound of the frogs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49